We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd expect to pay more for.”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #80 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Great Value for the Money!!

Quality of Furniture & Fixtures were a lot better than I expected.
Marble Bathrooms Floors, Elegant furniture & Bedding.

Good location right on Lombard St.
Walking distance to Fisherman's Warf (a good 15-20 min walk)
or take a bus one block over.

Free parking, uncommon in San Francisco.

Helpful knowledgable staff.

Try the Bay Watch restaurant for breakfast (1 block up Lombard St.) Great low Fat Fruit & Yogurt Crepes!

Only disadvantage is traffic noise, but they do have interior rooms available. A lot quieter, but not too much day light.

Can't wait to come back!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Tom-Colette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 714 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2007

Terrific location, fantastic price, parking free and an excellent manager doubling as a great concierge! Manager Doug was fantastic. Room was spacious, clean and enjoyable.
I will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank cleoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

great location. love the Cow Hollow, Marina district. have stayed here before and went back again. very clean and nice staff can walk to many, many restaurants and also the movie theatre down the street in the marina district. Be sure to try Noahs Bagles across the street and one block down. about 2 blocks up is Union Street in Cow Hollow. Great shops and numerous out door cafes and restaurants. We have driven all througout SF and this is the nicest and most fun area to stay in. near the marina, golden gate bridge and the Presidio.
will always stay in this area at the Chealsea or the Cow Hollow.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irish1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We made reservations here because of a recommendation. I have to admit before we got there I was worried about what the rooms would look like. We had a corner room and it was huge, very clean and nicely decorated. We had made reservations for 2 nights but after we were there we added another night. There was a sitting rooms area with chairs and tabels, we had 3 kids with us so it was nice to have all the extra room. Parking in the underground garage is included in the price of the room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RoadTripsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

the is a terrific place-especially for the value. the location is perfect. the staff was fantastic & eager to please. doug, the manager,was delightful. the owners care about their properties & it shows. ask for the back side-or quiet side. bed & pillows were comfy, great plush towels,amenities. lots of great restaurants in walking distance.plus owners refuse to raise rates for special events. how often to you find that??!!! will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dcpphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

We booked in here late in the eveing, the guy at the front desk was helpful and friendly. The room was really spacious and clean. We would stay here again and would ask for a room at the back and were right on the corner of Filmore and Lombard bit noise but great to people watch. the free parking is safe and convient. There is a bus stop close by so no travel problems. Much better than others in San Fran - give it a try

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank chriskerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Looked between AAA book and website, called the hotel and felt welcome. great location and easy to find. i am not used to the city noise all night long so the first night was hard to sleep, but the second i slept like a baby!. Nice rooms, free parking and one block from the busline I used all weekend. Muhammed was great for info. Thanks guys for my first weekend in San Francisco!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
614 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,590 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 230 in San Francisco
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
169 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#106 of 230 in San Francisco
849 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing