We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREEZING ROOMS”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #75 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Encino
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FREEZING ROOMS”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We chose Chelsea Motor Inn because of the other reviews on trip advisor, maybe they didn't go when it was freezing, but I had the worst night's sleep.
The room and bathroom were nice, very clean. Except for tape that was left on each corner on the bed and on top of each corner of the dresser, which I thought was weird. Everything was fine, until night time came.
We fell asleep early since we were exhausted from our long drive up, and woke up in the middle of the night freezing. The bed had a sheet and a tiny skinny little blanket that wouldn't warm anybody up. We turned on the heater but then it got too stuffy. I went to the closet since most hotels usually have extra blankets in there, but nothing.
Once I woke up my neck and back were aching because of the uncomfortable bed and pillows.
Before we left, we left a note for housekeeping to please bring us extra blankets. Once we got back into our room, the blankets were there. The second night was a little better since we were warmer, but the bed and pillows were still horribly uncomfortable. I probably would not stay there again. Parking was also horrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    380
    106
    20
    18
See reviews for
180
328
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Accomodation is so expensive in san fran! We stayed in a basic room which had a nice view out the window of lombard street. One big bed and a clean bathroom. Also had a big tv and desk, but we didnt spend much time in the room to enjoy this. Very central to alot of restaurants. About a 20 minute walk down to the golden gate bridge. ALot of the buses stop just outside the hotel. And the staff at the front desk are very helpful and resourceful. They seemed experienced. So glad i found this place. Would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsue_dc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a great surprise for us. This place was recommended to us by locals from San Francisco that we met in Sydney last year. They said it was were all the locals stay when heading into the city.

It is away from the main tourist area which is great and has some of the best food and bars around the surrounding neighbourhood.

The Big Bus tours have a stop right infront of the hotel which is the best way to see and experience San Francisco.

Rooms were clean and very comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd level with a internal view into nothing which was great with no noise.

Parking is on sight and included in the rates.

Enjoy San Francisco :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelPiero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

On a street (Lombard) of many hotels and motels this stands out as a gem. From the price we paid(93dollars) to an excellent room with two queen beds ,bay window, and excellent bedding we were pleasantly surprised. Parking is free and there are many very good restaurants in the immediate area. we walked to the water front and took the cable car into town. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: room on the side or the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was right in the neighborhood we wanted to be in, so for us it was great. Spacious room and bathroom. Clean and comfortable with an excellent desk staff. Free parking on site. The price was definitely right for a night at a great location in San Francisco. The frontage to a busy street could be off-putting enough to look for a quieter place next time.

Room Tip: Are there rooms off the street? If so, I'm not sure about their windows or views, but they migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeclarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Large hotel rooms! Amazing comfortable big bed. Room was very clean. Great service at front desk. Nice central location and easier to get public transport around San Fran. Would definately recommend. An older style hotel but everything was immaculate. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I booked in advance at this hotel, two rooms,for 1 night, I had a few requests, 1st was I would like the rooms to be next to each other, 2nd I asked for the highest floor and 3rd was a early check-in as we had come all the way from Australia. None of my requests were meet. When we arrived the man at the front desk was very unfriendly, rude not helpful at all. We ask him where a good place would be to have breakfast and he grunted down the street. We really need to have a shower before we went sightseeing. we spent the day out feeling grubby. When we returned to check-in later that evening it was someone different at the desk, he wasn't much better. Check-in was to much hassel after a really long day. The rooms were big and nice the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean. Not having a fridge was a bit of a pain, but as we were only there for 1 night it didn't matter to us. The free parking was good. But that is about all I could say regarding our stay here.

Room Tip: Don't bother as they will just put you anywere they like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerTweedHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
585 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
1,126 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#134 of 229 in San Francisco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Property: Chelsea Motor Inn
Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing