We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing value in The City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing value in The City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

My Husband and I stayed 3 nights in July, 2014. We were on the 3rd floor and asked for a quiet room. We were in a room 306. An interior room with a view of a brick wall. This was fine with us! It was VERY quiet and if we wanted a view we went outside! The room was large, larger than we had expected. Very roomy! It was SPOTLESS! I am a hotel snob (at least my Husband says I am) and was worried about staying here...so, believe me when I say this place was spotless.
If you require concierge services, someone to bring you extra towels (you will need to get them yourself), a free breakfast or fancy amenities this is not the place for you. However, if you need a clean, quiet place to lay your head after a great day of walking around in The City, BOOK A ROOM HERE!
If you need transportation... DON'T TAKE A CAB! Download an app called 'Lyft'. We used this service everyday at least 2 times. No complaints! Great way to travel, cheaper than a cab and we never waited more than 5 minutes for a pick up! Happy Traveling!

Room Tip: Room 306 is on the top floor. It is an interior room with a view of a white brick wall. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    668
    99
    16
    2
See reviews for
408
723
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was hesistant of this hotel because some of the review given, but once I arrived at this hotel and was welcomed by the front desk my reservations of this hotel went away!!! The rooms are very clean and during our stay, the housekeeping staff makes sure the room remains as clean as the day you arrive. The hotel is located on a very busy street and yes you can hear the noise if you are located in an outside room. We were located on an inside room, the view is not that great which we didn't mind and you do not hear any noise from the street!!!!

The staff were wonderful, they helped us get reasonable transportation back to the airport and also recommended great restaurants which were 2 blocks down from their location.

I said this hotel was priced well. I looked everywhere for reasonable rates for a decient hotel and this was the least expensive and if you have a car, you do not pay for parking which is very rare in this city. As for location, its about 6-8 blocks from the Presidio. We did take a taxi to the Fisherman's Warf which cost us around 12.00. We did walk alot, but if you are not keen about the steep hills, then you are better off with a taxi.

I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmeade2849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a great basic hotel at a fabulous price for San Francisco. Free parking, which is unheard of. I was on the second floor and could hear traffic, which didn't bother me. If you are a light sleeper ask for a higher floor. Very clean and great, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Entersmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is located 1/2 hr walk from Fisherman's Warf and the many great restaurants in the Russian section of town (try for example Zarzuela on Hyde Street). Spacious rooms. Nice and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a bus (no. 30) close by that goes downtown to Union Square, and the cable car is on Hyde street fairly close by. Free parking. A bit traffic noise even when not choosing the rooms facing Lombard Street. Many restaurants around the hotel. For breakfast, try Mels Drive In on Lombard street (a real American diner with lots of atmosphere).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LDH-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Motel is conveniently located on Lombard St. Free parking and within walking distance to a few restaurants and marina. Our room had a partial view of bay and Golden Gate Bridge. Rooms are clean and pretty and beds are comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great customer service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed three nights in June. Very good location for car travellers. Free and roomy garage for a bigger SUV also. Our room was clean and cozy and big enough for three people. The room was facing Moulton street and therefore very quiet.

Location in good. Only short walking to nearby restaurants and bars in Lombard st and very nice Union st. To Fisherman´s Wharf it takes about 25 min. To Union Square you get easily by bus from Chestnut st.

Overall very good and reasonable priced hotel albeit without breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel as we were looking for somewhere cheap we could use as a base whilst we were in the city for a few days. It's pretty much what I expected. There is free parking which is great in a city like that! The location is really good; restaurants are within walking distance and the sea and it's on a bus route. The rooms are very basic and the decor could do with an update but it was clean and tidy and has everything you would need. The bed was huge and so was the TV which was a plus. Even though it's in the middle of the city is pretty quiet except for the morning and evening traffic but nothing that bothered us. Not much else to say except the staff were really helpful showing us where to go and pointing things out on the map for us. I would stay here again. Does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing