We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well priced hotel in a very expensive city!!”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #33 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was hesistant of this hotel because some of the review given, but once I arrived at this hotel and was welcomed by the front desk my reservations of this hotel went away!!! The rooms are very clean and during our stay, the housekeeping staff makes sure the room remains as clean as the day you arrive. The hotel is located on a very busy street and yes you can hear the noise if you are located in an outside room. We were located on an inside room, the view is not that great which we didn't mind and you do not hear any noise from the street!!!!

The staff were wonderful, they helped us get reasonable transportation back to the airport and also recommended great restaurants which were 2 blocks down from their location.

I said this hotel was priced well. I looked everywhere for reasonable rates for a decient hotel and this was the least expensive and if you have a car, you do not pay for parking which is very rare in this city. As for location, its about 6-8 blocks from the Presidio. We did take a taxi to the Fisherman's Warf which cost us around 12.00. We did walk alot, but if you are not keen about the steep hills, then you are better off with a taxi.

I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rmeade2849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a great basic hotel at a fabulous price for San Francisco. Free parking, which is unheard of. I was on the second floor and could hear traffic, which didn't bother me. If you are a light sleeper ask for a higher floor. Very clean and great, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entersmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is located 1/2 hr walk from Fisherman's Warf and the many great restaurants in the Russian section of town (try for example Zarzuela on Hyde Street). Spacious rooms. Nice and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a bus (no. 30) close by that goes downtown to Union Square, and the cable car is on Hyde street fairly close by. Free parking. A bit traffic noise even when not choosing the rooms facing Lombard Street. Many restaurants around the hotel. For breakfast, try Mels Drive In on Lombard street (a real American diner with lots of atmosphere).

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank LDH-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Motel is conveniently located on Lombard St. Free parking and within walking distance to a few restaurants and marina. Our room had a partial view of bay and Golden Gate Bridge. Rooms are clean and pretty and beds are comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great customer service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VacationHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed three nights in June. Very good location for car travellers. Free and roomy garage for a bigger SUV also. Our room was clean and cozy and big enough for three people. The room was facing Moulton street and therefore very quiet.

Location in good. Only short walking to nearby restaurants and bars in Lombard st and very nice Union st. To Fisherman´s Wharf it takes about 25 min. To Union Square you get easily by bus from Chestnut st.

Overall very good and reasonable priced hotel albeit without breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel as we were looking for somewhere cheap we could use as a base whilst we were in the city for a few days. It's pretty much what I expected. There is free parking which is great in a city like that! The location is really good; restaurants are within walking distance and the sea and it's on a bus route. The rooms are very basic and the decor could do with an update but it was clean and tidy and has everything you would need. The bed was huge and so was the TV which was a plus. Even though it's in the middle of the city is pretty quiet except for the morning and evening traffic but nothing that bothered us. Not much else to say except the staff were really helpful showing us where to go and pointing things out on the map for us. I would stay here again. Does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Business trip to the bay area, excellent location and best of all, great bed, free parking and free wifi. Cannot beat that in a city that every year the price of hotel rooms skyrocket.

With the exception of the crypt keeper at check, a very pleasant stay. Grey local restaurants within walking distance. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Interior of the hotel ,2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jondavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
614 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 230 in San Francisco
1,177 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
425 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $132 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing