We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good inexpensive place to stay in SF”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #32 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for an inexpensive SF hotel with parking provided. It is right on Lombard street, which is noisy and full of other hotels, but just a couple of blocks away from Cow Hollow, a neighborhood with lots of restaurants, Real Food grocery, coffee, and shopping. You can walk to a lot of other neightborhoods from here (Little Italy, Chinatown, Russian Hill) and can catch lots of buses to other locations. Dependable Wifi, helpful staff- would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lombard street are very noisy with lots of buses going by.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmaass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
There are newer reviews for Coventry Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel was a great find in San Francisco! It was reasonably priced, well- located, had free parking, large clean rooms, quiet halls, comfortable beds, and a friendly, helpful staff. Three of us (two adults and a child) spent three nights there in June, and were well satisfied with everything about the Coventry Inn! Within two and a half blocks, we ate at the great Mel's Diner, and also caught the hop on-hop off tour bus. (We bought the tickets at the hotel!) My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: If street sounds bother you, ask for a room that does not face Lombard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmhooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel was, for the money, quite good. It's location is perfect for exploring the local areas. It's a lovely walk along the waterfront to the harbour bridge and also the town. Free parking was also a big bonus for our stay.
Definitely recommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanluc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

There are lots of generic-looking motor inns along Lombard Street. I don't know how any of them compare to the Coventry Motor Inn, but I was really delighted to find this place. Hotel prices are sky-high in San Francisco and I was dreading the cost of finding somewhere in a good area with parking on top. Then I found the Coventry and I would highly recommend it! At just a little over $100 per night we got a spotless, well-maintained large room with two double beds, a good TV, a coffee maker and secure parking included. This part of Lombard street itself is pretty quiet and residential with some very good local restaurants, a playground and a Safeway in the area. There is also a bike rental place across the road - very handy if you want to cycle the bridge without needing to walk to the spate of rentals down at Fishermans Wharf.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muireann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights while vacationing in San Francisco. If you are looking for a super clean room, free parking and heavenly beds for a reasonable price, look no further! Staff was super friendly and helpful answering questions about sight seeing. Also, walking distance to great resturants and a 20-30 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank WildHaireHiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

What an unexpected pleasure to find an affordable, comfortable and extremely clean hotel, in a convenient San Francisco neighborhood, with free parking, Just returned from spending five nights at the Coventry Motor Inn and have nothing but good things to say about our experience. The housekeeping staff does an impeccable job keeping the facility clean. While the Motor Inn has no restaurant facilities, there are numerous restaurants nearby offering an array of choices. The location of the hotel is within a 15-20 minute walk of Ghirardelli square and Fisherman's Wharf. We will definitely return to the Coventry on our next visit to SF. The hotel is located on Lombard Street, a major San Francisco thoroughfare. During rush hour in the morning, you may hear some traffic depending on your room location. Comfortable, clean, conveniently located and affordable with free parking........what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarkGriswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our plane was delayed and we were still greeted at 2am with a friendly professional man at the front desk! Next day the day manager was super helpful . She helped us with a computer issue we were having! Big plus is the free parking for every guest room! Lovely, clean room and comfy! I HIGHLY recommend the Coventry Motor Inn !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 229 in San Francisco
598 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
706 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $133 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing