We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will stay again when in SF”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #33 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Coventry Motor Inn is located in a fun neighborhood with lots of options for food and bars within walking distance. You can access several bus lines within a few blocks. It's a much different atmosphere than what you get at Fisherman's Wharf. Free parking is a plus, so we parked our rental car and took public transportation everywhere in the city. The price was great for our budget. Seemed almost too good to be true. The hotel is old but really clean. The front desk and housekeeping employees were helpful and friendly. The AC unit was finicky but other than that, our stay was great. When we come to SF again, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsSME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was very nervous reserving this "motor inn". When you're coming half way around the world with your family, you really don't want to risk getting it wrong. When hotels downtown were charging $400 plus parking, how the heck could this place be so cheap, with free parking and be good at the same time? Well folks, it IS good. I guess the price is kept down because there's no breakfast, there's no bell boys, there's no expansive lobby......but you do get:
-a fabulous location, local area is brilliant, there's a great playground nearby if you have kids (we walked around fishermans wharf and kept exclaiming "thank goodness we aren't staying here")
- we enjoyed food from pacific catch and tacolicious
- we paid the $5 per day for a fridge and with milk from a store across the road had cereal for breakfast
- rooms were very clean and comfortable (there is noise from Lombard but we found it to be white noise rather than annoying)

I could go on and on, we really loved SFC and this hotel was part of the reason why. If you have kids under 8, you must visit the concrete slide in golden gate park, hands down the best fun our kids have ever had in a park.

The only negative is the windows, they open wide without any kid safety latch or lock. It would be very easy and incredibly tragic for a child to fall out, please mgt make your windows kid safe. Apart from that, a brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We wanted a hotel that would keep us close to the city, the Coventry Motor Inn was perfect. The two beds were so comfortable - the best of all the hotels on our month long vacation. The room was good sized, plenty of space to spread out. Our room (3 people) had great WIFI, a desk with chair, a table and two chairs, a big bathroom and was very clean. I must mention again how comfortable the beds were. The room also had a huge full sized mirror that was very nice. The parking is free and very secure. There was a small grocery store across the street and an easy walk to restaurants and Pubs (Lombard Street). I walked three blocks up on Buchannan and found some quaint restaurants and shops on Union Street away from the tourist crowds. It was an easy 35 minute walk to Fisherman’s wharf (we had Alcatraz tickets). We also caught the cable car the next day to Market Street and China Town. No breakfast but many places close by you could walk to. Check in was quick and the staff exceptional. This will be our San Francisco hotel whenever we are in the area. Thank you Coventry for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HonoluluLocalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you have second thoughts about this place - Don't.
It's a great place with great service (Tony is amazing and I hope the management knows that). The location is great and the parking is really an advantage. We stayed for 2 nights as a couple + 2. the room was amazing and the mattress was so comfortable i almost took them with me.
Plenty or restaurants around the hotel.

I will certainly stay in this place again

Room Tip: Room on the 3rd floor facing Buchanan was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a fabulous city is San Francisco. We chose the Coventry Motor Inn after much homework and research on the accommodation choices the city has to offer, much of which is rather expensive in comparison to other US cities. We settled on this property after the majority of reviews spoke of location, good honest clean rooms and value for money. You always tend to stumble across a couple of negative reviews regardless of which property is in question, but I find most are just small concerns that really don't impact the overall experience greatly, or are perhaps just written by travelers who really expect way higher standards than they are paying for. Whilst the Coventry is no 5 Star Hilton Hotel, what it does deliver is value for money, a handy location close to many tourist attractions, and a friendly interaction with the guest. Parking can be in short supply at times, but we always managed to find a spot, at ground level or down in the basement carpark. Yes, you do hear a little traffic noise from Lombard St into the early hours, but hardly to a degree that it should disturb your sleep. This is a big City, not a quiet country lane, after all. Would I stay here with my family again?... without a doubt!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very comfortable.The staff were very helpful and friendly -unfortunately there was no fridge available for the 1st night, but we were able to put milk etc in the hotel fridge. Parking is free and the location is good - only 10 mins down to the shore and a further 10 to Fisherman's Wharf. Room was clean and coffee making facilities available!
Plenty of restaurants around - we went to a Thai - didn't enjoy that one! Also a few carry out restaurants - we went to the Italian one just up the street from the hotel and enjoyed that!

The only negative would be that there is no outside space to sit and relax - but it is city centre!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinty_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a three-night stay at Coventry Motor Inn in a room with a king bed. We paid the extra $5/day to have an in-room fridge, which was a reasonable price. Our room faced Buchanan street, so there wasn't much noise. The windows open to let in a lovely breeze, so between that and the fan the room was quite comfortable. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job, and our room was sparkling clean every day. There are shops and restaurants nearby (try Home Plate at 2274 Lombard - great food!), and public transit is conveniently located. I never had trouble finding a parking spot in one of the two parking garages when I did take the car out. It was an overall wonderful stay. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor facing Buchanan if you don't want a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syl_in_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
610 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 230 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing