We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Value for San francisco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Value for San francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here early May 2014 for 4 nights.Was alot cheaper than most hotels.Very good value for amount paid.Cost $155 NZ for 3 adults per night.Loacation was on Lombard street in the Marina District.Bus stop was nearby.Nice restaurant was only a few yards away.Had some early morning starts and couldn't find anywhere nearby open before 10 am to get a coffee or some breakfast.Staff were pretty friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on Lombard street as it is quite noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savanahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    669
    99
    16
    2
See reviews for
408
724
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at Coventry Inn for three nights in May 2014. It is located in close proximity to the touristy areas (Marina, Fishermans Wharf and The Golden Gate Bridge).

The rooms are simple, clean and a good size. The free parking is excellent and is the main reason as to why this inn is excellent value..

I would strongly recommend the Inn to anyone who's travelling to San Francisco on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcgrant31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Five stars for room. Four stars for service. Our room #301 was better than expected. We asked for a quiet 3rd floor room, away from elevators facing Moulton Street, and that’s what we got. As other reviewers have stated, the rooms are large, nicely updated and very clean. It is perhaps the quietest hotel room we have ever stayed in. Bus service is near the hotel and it is only a 25 minute walk to Fisherman’s Wharf. Our only complaint was an elderly night desk person who was very grumpy. One evening we asked for directions. Once given, we repeated them back for clarification to which he responded “what did I just tell you”. Another evening we called the front desk to ask for an extra pillow and his only response was “you will have to come and get it”. Yet another time our room had no drinking glasses or cups so I went down to the front desk and asked for two glasses. The same elderly gentleman reached behind a door and produced two cups without one word. Definitely not friendly or customer service oriented. In contrast, another gentleman night clerk investigated a banging noise on our roof during very high winds and went onto the roof to secure an errant piece of metal. Overall, we would definitely stay again and especially if we had a car. Perhaps the elderly gentleman will be retired when we next visit. Note:The writer is age 65.

Room Tip: Third floor, away from elevators, facing Moulton Street, #301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrairieWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Our room wasn't very quiet as we were close to the main road . Very clean. Hotel has the car park but if you are not planning to hire a car it's easy to get by public transport. Best way is train from the aiport and then bus it will cost you around 12-14 USD one way pp. Hotel is little bit away from the center but we walked everywhere from there.
Hotel is located half way between famous bridge and fisherman wharf. Near the hotel you can find a lot of different restaurants, bars and shops. There is also a few supermarkets and local fruit market where you can get some organic freshly prepared food. We stayed there just few nights and walk lots of miles - if you don't like to walk to much I would advise you to find something closer to the down town :-)
I would stay in this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vitoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Coventry Inn for four nights in May 2014. Located near the Marina, Fishermans Wharf and The Golden Gate Bridge, it is well located to access the more touristy areas. Not the best located to access the city though.

The rooms are simple, clean, quiet and quite large. With the added bonus of free covered parking, the inn was really excellent value.

Would highly recommend the Inn to anyone who's traveling to San Francisco on a budget but doesn't want to stay in hostels.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddlez0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We spent nine nights at the Coventry Motor Inn. I chose this hotel based on all the positive reviews it was given. It did not disappoint. The staff was very welcoming and fantastic to us. The rooms were large, clean, and soundproof. Another plus for us was the Tempur Pedic beds. It was like sleeping on a cloud and we always woke up rested. Parking is free which is another plus. Lombard is a major street with plenty of action not to mention the crookedest road in the world is about a mile away. There are plenty of restaurants, gas stations, drugstores, and hills around you. The hotel is located in the marina district and the bay is seven or eight blocks away. It is a good place to be located in San Francisco. I highly, highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoob1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing