We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, super comfy beds, free parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean, super comfy beds, free parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I visited SF in November and had a 3 night stay at the hotel. Our experience was very positive in every way. To start, the hotel has free parking which is a must for the SF area. Once you enter your room you'll smell and notice how clean it is. Their beds are super comfortable which can be priceless after a long day. Their decor is outdated but it didn't bother us. Hotel has a good location with restaurants nearby. I would say it is walking distance from the marina only if you are in good shape and have comfortable shoes :) I recommend this hotel and definitely would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    690
    106
    16
    2
See reviews for
429
750
57
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The room and bathroom were large and clean. I had asked for a room at the rear of the hotel - there was minimal traffic noise. There was adequate parking (which is situation on the ground floor, on the floor below it and to the rear of the hotel.) The location is great for sightseeing and the hotel offers good value for money. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for and got a room at the rear of the hotel. This was quiet and I had no problems sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed for one night and we were really impressed with the quality of the Coventry Motor Inn. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful, parking was very convenient, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the location was perfect. My lovely partner knows SF well and she was astounded at how close all the most interesting areas were in relation to the Motor Inn. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0613nav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Exceeded our expectations. Stayed 9 nights Nov 2013.
Hotel room was spacious and clean. Quiet although a busy street outside.I have no complaints at all.
Friendly staff at the reception. Didn't need to use them more than check in/out but they gave a friendly impression. Car parking included. Just drive into their garage, park and take the elevator to your floor. Very easy.
The area is quite nice. Lot's of good restaurants and pubs Easy to walk to the beach and Fisherman's wharf. Take a bus from the other side of the block to the city - 25 minutes. Runs frequently. If not the prices increase drastically, I'd book again next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank B42L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night during a visit to San Fran and neighboring wine country. This hotel was an unexpected delight. Great location for the price, though not immediately next any of the myriad tourist spots. It was a pleasant walk to the waterfront and Ghiradelli Square, but if walking is not your thing, a car or public transit will get you to those places.
The front desk staff was great and the room was very spacious. The Tempurpedic bed was a great touch.

Our room faced Lombard street; we didn't have a noise "problem". There was noise, but that may have been from the fact that it is on one of the more busy streets in one of the largest cities in the nation's most populous state. Kidding aside, their was street noise, but hey, you're in a city and should expect that.

Definitely no breakfast, but when you see the configuration of the building, it won't surprise you. Actually it gave us the opportunity to find a great breakfast place in a quaint neighborhood.

Wished we had planned to stay at this hotel longer.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were incredibly pleased with the value provided. Unable to find another hotel in SF due to conference, we took a chance on Coventry Motor Inn for a night. Very professionally run, clean, great mattress, parking fantastic, and great location. Unbeatable value. The staff/owners clearly strive to provide a quality experience at reasonable rates. Highly recommend for value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 446hilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This has been an excellent hotel for my husband and I. The room is large and spacious, bathroom lovely and a wonderful big king sized bed which is so very comfortable. The room rate is just excellent to. Its a perfect place to stay if you are looking for accommodation for affordable prices and located in an excellent area of San Francisco with free parking then this is your place to stay!!!! I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelier2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#35 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing