We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very friendly hotel staff. Large clean room that accommodated 2 adults and 3 kids. Our room was on the corner of Lombard and Buchanan and the the sound at night from the highway did not bother any of us. Free parking can be a very tight fit but it is manageable. Return to the hotel after check-out time and before people check-in and you should land a good spot! Overall excellent experience and would highly recommend for families looking to stay in SF. Walking distance to Ghiradelli Square and Fishermans Wharf area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiveTravelers2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    628
    93
    15
    2
See reviews for
384
687
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed 6 nights, and had asked for a room at back, and got one. The staff at the desk were always friendly and very helpful. Rooms were always clean and made up. Great value! Would always stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moondyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel does not look like much on the outside but was perfect on the inside. We were not expecting much based on the pics of the outside but the room itself was excellent. Bathroom was clean, carpets updated and the bed was Tempurpedic/memory foam- and so comfortable! This was a perfect location for us as we had a rental car and were able to drive to all the places we wanted to go. Parking is free (YES) although not for large SUV's or trucks. There was an underground garage but the spaces are tight so be prepared to have someone guide you into the spot if you have a larger vehicle. The neighborhood is not scary as some areas in San Fran can be, although I see no reason to walk around the area of the hotel. There is a liquor store right across the street for a late night in room cocktail. There is no lobby for socializing just a check in area. We will definitely stay here for our next trip to San Fran.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulAngie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed hear for a few nights. Great price for San Frans standards , lovely walk to all the waterfront attractions very large rooms and great staff to make your stay even more enjoyable free car parking which is great but you will not have to use your car whilst hear. Very handy if you are going to use the hop on hop of bus as it has a pick up point only a few hundred meters down the road.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in june. Made the reservation 6 months before. Asked for a quiet room on the back, got a noisy room on the front facing Lombard Street. We could hear much traffic noise coming from the street. (but had some scenic view on the other hand). So if you are a light sleeper ask a room on the back. After all we had a good night sleep. Rooms are clean, basic and a bit dated but big enough and the beds are comfortable. Free parking in the basement is top ! No breakfast included, we had great breakfast at Mells ( 4 minutes walk).
Location is also good and close to the Pier (15 minutes walk). Next to the hotel there is a shop where we rented great bikes for 20 dollar a day. Hotels in SF are not cheap, this hotel had a nice price. Great value and helpful staff! My wife rated it very good. Would stay here next time.

Room Tip: rooms on Lombard Street are not free from traffic noise, ask a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We traveled to SF with our 11 months old to visit family and sightseeing. I was a little skeptical of the hotel at first because of the great price. But everything turned out great. Free parking, free pack n play style crib, and the room was roomy & clean enough for a 11 months old to crawl around. We were really SATISFIED with our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneinabluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located to take advantage of all the sights, with the convenience of easy, safe parking. We left our car for all our in-town tourism and walked/bused wherever we wanted to go (SF is relatively easy to travel sans automobile).

The clean guest room was very large with an extraordinarily comfortable bed and a table area. The shower wasn't so nice due to its water-saving nature, a let down for Mr. Shower obsessed. The wifi was also painfully slow and unreliable from our room (your mileage will vary depending on how close you are to the wireless access point - our room was not so close) which could be frustrating. Best bet is to sit on the floor near your door to get it to work for any amount of time.

All the staff was very helpful, especially Tony who was most often on duty when we had questions. And all at a very reasonable price.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Mitchasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#42 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#75 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#28 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#81 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
#32 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Travelodge at the Presidio San F...
#57 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing