We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #33 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located to take advantage of all the sights, with the convenience of easy, safe parking. We left our car for all our in-town tourism and walked/bused wherever we wanted to go (SF is relatively easy to travel sans automobile).

The clean guest room was very large with an extraordinarily comfortable bed and a table area. The shower wasn't so nice due to its water-saving nature, a let down for Mr. Shower obsessed. The wifi was also painfully slow and unreliable from our room (your mileage will vary depending on how close you are to the wireless access point - our room was not so close) which could be frustrating. Best bet is to sit on the floor near your door to get it to work for any amount of time.

All the staff was very helpful, especially Tony who was most often on duty when we had questions. And all at a very reasonable price.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Mitchasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I cant say enough about this motor inn. I traveled with my 3 kids to sf and was on a small budget. This place is in a great location. Walking distance to everything. Warning sf is very hilly. the inn was very clean and beds very comfy. I encounterd 3 lobby staff and all were very helpful and nice. I stayed on a thurs-sunday and payed only 155.00. The reviews here made me book it and I was not dissapointed.
Great job Coventry!!!
A plus free parking in sf

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hard to believe that a family of four can find a nice and comfortable room in SF for less than $200/night, with free parking to boot, but that is what you get at the Coventry Inn. It is not a 5 if you are looking for luxury, but if what you want is a clean and comfortable room at a good price with friendly staff, the Coventry Inn fits the bill. The location may not be as good for walking to shopping etc. as Union Square or other places, but it is close to puiblic transportation and is a short walk to a great breakfast place.

Room Tip: We were on one of the street sides (not Lombard), so there was some street noise at times, but I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ejeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything so clean, staff is friendly and helpfull. If you are looking for some great place to sleep and not a luxury, this is place for you. All major amenities just a walk distance, start with Pier 39, top of Lombard street, little Italy, even China town with 35 min walk. A few small restaurants around.

Thank urgy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, June 24-25, 2013. I choose this motel because of the reviews, price, and free parking. It also seemed like it was in a decent location, fairly close to attractions where I would not need my car so I could walk or take public transport. Also based on reviews it seemed clean and safe. Fortunately, the reviews and what all seemed to be proved to be true.

Our room was large and clean. We driving in from Wisconsin so we were looking for a value and FREE parking. We arrived around 4pm and were lucky to find a spot on the lower level of the parking area. Parking is limited and really tight, we lucked out that our spot was easy to get into and out of, not that we needed to move the car until we checked out. By night time though the upper level seemed to be where they would double park cars if needed. The motel was near enough the Wharf area to walk to but about a block down is a bus stop and the bus stops frequently and is cheap (we rode all day on buses and the street car by paying just one fare and using the transfer they gave us). It looked like there were some nice restaurants and bars in the area but we didn't eat at any of them. The beds in the room were Tempurpedic which turned out to be really comforable and I was leery because I like a very firm bed. Our room was not directly on Lombard, but facing the side street, we could still hear some street noise, but it wasn't that bad and at night we were tired enough it didn't bother us at all. The shower and shower-head was nice, sometimes it is just a trickle of water or the height of the head is placed for really short people, but it was okay here. There is not a fridge in the room, and it would have been helpful for us because I had medication that needed to be kept cold, but since we were on a road trip we had our cooler with us so it wasn't a big deal. It would have been nice to be closer to the Wharf area but I didn't mind not paying the prices for the hotels in that area. Neither of us minded that there wasn't a big lobby, because wouldn't have hung out in it anyway. We felt safe in this area even at night when we returned to our hotel around 11pm. In order to get into the room with the elevator you need to use your room key, which was nice for safety too. Both my husband and I decided if we ever come back to San Francisco we would look into this hotel. It was a good, clean value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajrwdwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This isn't 5* but you get the most of it at very low price. Room has two comfy double beds, good size, is CLEAN but old, bathroom is renovated not long ago, plenty of towels, toiletries, great value, location is perfect, free parking (really save a lot if you've a car). Cafes are close by, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Italian, Mediteranian,..... Bus # 30 to downtown is 2 mnt walk away.

If you need a basic n CLEAN accommodation with free parking in SF, I highly recommend Coventry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

had a nice 1 night stay here, checked in around 8pm, was greeted, by Vince i believe was his name. great clerk !

the room was clean and the bed were comfortable !

i would stay here again ! parking below is very very limited, im surprised i was able to get a space.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
621 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Phoenix Hotel SF
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
718 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
1,190 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $134 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing