We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of San Francisco”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #34 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Cynthia the manager was delightful from the moment we walked in the door....she was ever so helpful and had a fabulous sense of humor. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The price was very reasonable for San Francisco and the parking was a great perk. Tony was helpful too and everybody was very friendly. We will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We only stayed here one night as we had another hotel booked nearer the airport, so used this hotel for our San Francisco sight seeing. Admittedly the main reason we decided to stay here was because of the free parking and we weren't expecting much else. However we were pleasantly surprised, the bedroom was spacious with a nice big flat screen TV, it was on Lombard St but had no problems with noise at night and slept fine! Both the bedroom and bathroom were nice and clean. We found our way around by foot and the hotel is in walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and the Crooked Street. The day we were checking out we wanted to spend the whole day in San Francisco sight-seeing, we were a bit worried about parking so tried our luck in asking the front desk if we could pay to leave our car there for the day. Despite checking out that morning they let us leave our car there for free for the whole day! If you are happy to stay somewhere that is not too fancy but is clean with free parking and friendly staff this is definitely the place. Would definitely visit again when next visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybadger91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is an excellent bargain for the location it is in. Located conveniently close to the Marina district and the Fisherman's Wharf. We stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with the service and the cleanliness of the place; which is most important to us. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be able to walk to the popular attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nothing to say, very good stay! After checking hotel prices in SF, I was very happy to find this one.
Car parking guaranteed which is very convenient, few minutes walk from Chestnut street and its restaurants. We walked until Union Square, it's quite a walk but feasible.
Cable cars are also at proximity. Woman at the reception was very friendly and explained us things to do or how to buy tour tickets.
Simple, nothing fancy but exactly what we wanted: a cheap and clean hotel to stay.
We'll come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent 7 nights at the Coventry Motor Inn and our stay / experience was excellent. ALL the staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. A special thanks to Isabelle, Cynthia, Tony and Vince. We had a king room on the 2nd floor, backside away from traffic. Clean, spacious and comfortable. With the angled design of three windows that opened fully, we had a refreshing breeze throughout. For a hotel without balconies in the rooms, this made an impromtu patio with the provided table and chairs. For $5.00 extra per night we had a small fridge brought in for our beverages and groceries. The bed had a foam mattress and was very comfortable. Large flat screen t.v., although could not locate the channel for ease of "surfing". The wifi worked great within the room and entire hotel which in this day and age is a necessity. A hotel directory book within the room identifying surrounding services would be helpful though. Isabelle at the front desk assisted us with renting a car with Hertz and were able to get a discounted rate. The Inn has ample complimentary parking for guests. The staff were always helpful. Little things like buzzing us in as we approached with our arms full, suggesting local services, and even on-road phone call assistance as we tried to locate an open money exchange during the weekend. The location of the Coventry is perfect. Several bus routes within a block that can take you to all areas of the city or even walking to Fisherman's wharf is an easy 15min stroll. Restaurants and bars of all sorts and $$ are within three blocks. Overall, the Coventry Motor Inn is a great place to stay and have as a "home-base" to explore this fabulous city.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be less noisy from the traffic on Lombard St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms. Ours actually overlooked on the Golden gate.
No breakfast, but plenty of places nearby.
We walked everywhere and we had no problems. I suppose that if you drive, it would be perfect since they seem to have a spacious parking (San Fran standards:)
The staff is super helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlingdearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a great place to stay, just a couple of blocks from Union St. shopping and restaurants. It is convenient, clean, comfortable and updated. We didn't quite know what to expect for the price of this hotel, but it far, far exceeded our expectations. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. We arrived in town early and had an Alcatraz tour booked. We didn't think we would find parking down by the pier, so we asked if we could park in the hotel garage, even though we wouldn't be able to check in until later that afternoon. They allowed us to do that and helped us get a cab to the pier. When we were leaving, the desk clerk helped us pack up our olive oil so we could take it in our suitcase on the plane! Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, there are several on the same block, one being an excellent Thai restaurant, that is very reasonably priced, and even offers delivery. You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocobch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 231 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel SF
#27 of 231 in San Francisco
1,072 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 231 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $141 - $1,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing