We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploration”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #33 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We picked this hotel initially because of the good reviews here and also the prices of the rooms when we booked.

I have to say that we weren't disappointed when we got there - the free parking was a definite bonus and although it is a bit of a walk to the main parts of the town it is worth it.

The rooms are clean & tidy (although slightly dated) and we had a bigger TV in the room than we do at home.

There was some road noise outside but it didn't give us a problem. The staff at the reception, both during the day and at night, were helpful and friendly and they allowed us to leave the car there for a few extra hours after checkout to allow us to do our Alcatraz visit.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninja_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was the cheapest place I could get for what we were after i.e. free wi-fi, 2 double beds. We checked in at about 7pm and the staff were friendly. The rooms are OK but look tired and had a tv, en-suite, nice beds. My only issue was the noise from the road as it is one of the main routes. I actually thought the window was open and got out to shut it only to find it was closed tight! Location wise we didn't really get a chance to explore but we did walk to the Golden Gate Bridge from here which took about an hour and it was about a 20 minute walk from the famous Lombard St that you see in the films when people take a bus down it and get stuck! Across the road was a corner shop which was open most of the time and down the road was a KFC which was a life saver as we didn't fancy eating in a restaurant after an action packed day. Overall it was a nice hotel for what we paid and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

During our recent vacation to San Francisco we stayed several nights at The Coventry.First for 3 days then came back after exploring farther areas.The location is great and the hotel is perfect for those who intend to use the hotel as a base for exploring the city.The hotel provides free parking which can cost a premium for anyone wishing to park in the city.We felt safe in the area and the staff was very helpful.I will return to this hotel every time I return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaryguyoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and the fact that it had parking which is hard to come by in San Francisco. It was a great place to stay-lovely room, very comfortable bed, friendly & helpful staff. Per our request, we were given a room facing a side street-nice and quiet. There are many choices of restaurants within walking distance and we had a fantastic meal at a small Italian restaurant, recommended by one of the hotel staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on Lombard St.-very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jweb040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This motel, which is actually more of a Hotel was great. It was in a great location just a short walk to the marina and to Union Street shopping. The staff was great both Tony and Isabell were very friendly and super helpful. We asked for a room away from the street because we read some reviews that said the street noise was bothersome. When we made the reservation they didn't have any available, but we checked back a day before our visit and Isabell was super and switched us due to a cancellation. We had a clean room with a super comfy bed. We did hear the guy next door so the walls may be a little thin but it wasn't bothersome to us. The price, cleanliness and location were much more important to us. Oh and the Free Parking. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a king room on the third floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really have only good things to say about this place. The staff was very helpful and informed. The rooms are very reasonable and CLEAN. I will not stay in a hotel that is dirty. Parking is free, which is unheard of in San Francisco.

Every other review on here is right, the hotel is withing walking distance to tons of attractions. There's also some great places to eat about four blocks away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nebraskatravler69363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

On a recent trip to San Francisco, we stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn. This choice was made after reading all the reviews on TripAdvisor...and they were absolutely correct. This is a great place to stay. The location is perfect if you are able to walk...we rarely took our car out of the parking garage (which, by the way, was under the hotel and completely free). The staff is very friendly, very helpful, and the fresh fruit on the counter each day is nice. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, and the price is right.

Room Tip: You will feel very safe here - guests must have a room key to even get on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNwintertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
615 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
1,032 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
715 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 230 in San Francisco
1,181 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#15 of 230 in San Francisco
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $132 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing