We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coventry Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
$230
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$418
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$272
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$336
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$323
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$401
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,646)
Filter reviews
1,646 results
Traveler rating
728
773
123
19
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
773
123
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslombard streetfree parkingmemory foamthe golden gate bridgefisherman's wharfmarina districtchestnut sthome platemel's dinercow hollowbay windowwalking distancefort masonpalace of fine artsroom was largeroom facingclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
939 - 944 of 1,646 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Located in San Fransinsco "Bermuda triangle" so many bars, stores and restaurant you just can't come out. Helpful stuff, good rooms with bay windows, free parking (huge plus in sf) near to Marina, little Italy and China town..

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonteCristo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, asked for a quiet room and were very happy. The Inn is secure, you use your room "key" to enter the building. Tony at the desk was great, recommended a Thai restaurant across the street. No ear plugs needed, even the heater was quiet. The bathroom is large. Quite comfortable. Definitely would stay again. (No pets allowed.)
Parking is all covered, they say they nearly never run out of parking spaces, security camera watches the lower level parking.

Room Tip: Stayed in the back, away from Lombard St. We were in 201 at the end of a hall, on an alley. Quiet! Elevator and ice machine are in the front center.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are a 3 1/2 hour drive from San Francisco, and we need to go there frequently for shopping, medical, and other needs, as it's the closest city to us. The Coventry Motor Inn is our favorite place to stay for several reasons. In the same group of hotels, all on or near Lombard St., are the Chelsea Motor Inn, Cow Hollow Inn and Suites, and Columbus Motor Inn. We have stayed at all of them over the years. They are pretty similar in comfort, architecture and location, with generously sized rooms and bay windows overlooking either Lombard, side, or back streets, and free parking underneath the premises. The rates for all of these hotels are the best we've found in San Francisco, except when there is some event going on which drives all San Francisco hotel prices up. Free parking included in the rate is a really great feature, as we always drive to SF, and parking at most SF hotels is either not included in the rates, or you have to park on the street. Parking can add up to $45 a day to the price of staying in SF. We chose the Coventry as our favorite because of its location, a bit more quiet with its side street on Buchanan than the Cow Hollow, which can get very noisy at night because of all the bars, cafes and restaurants on Steiner, and the Chelsea, side street Fillmore, which less noisy than Steiner but not as quiet as Buchanan St. The back street of the Chelsea faces a post office, which makes it noisy at various times during the day, expecially early in the morning on weekdays.
Although there aren't as many restaurants within walking distance of the Coventry as at the Cow Hollow or the Chelsea, which are both within a couple of blocks from the Coventry, Union Street, Lombard Street, Chestnut Street, Fillmore and Steiner Streets are alll a comfortable walk away for us at 60+. There must be a hundred restaurants to choose from in this area of San Francisco. You can easily get anywhere in SF from here, whether walking, driving, using public transportation or taxi. The Coventry Motor Inn is our home away from home of choice in San Francisco. If the Coventry is booked up, any of the other hotels in the group are a close second choice.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little noise and like to people watch, ask for a Lombard St facing room. Rooms facing Buchanan St are quieter. Rooms facing the back street (forgot the name) are also quiet but you tend to look into the windows of the apartments across the streets, and they into yours.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabriolagertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently traveled to California and I booked all the hotels for the first time with TripAdvisor! I was so pleased with all my selections! The Coventry Motor Inn was just perfect in terms of the value, the size of the room, the cleanliness and the location in the city. We had requested a room on the side street which we were given and could look out onto the city at night which was great! We stayed here three nights and were so pleased with the ease of getting in and out of the city via the Golden Gate Bridge, as well as how convenient it was for walking to the Marina, or the Fisherman's Wharf, or the restaurants on Lombard and Union Streets. We used the local bus and trolley transportation and the management was very helpful in directing us on getting to the various stops. Everyone in the city was also so friendly so this was a plus. We located a pub across the street from the Inn, the Silver Cloud, which we ate at twice, and it was delicious and very reasonable. Having free parking was definitely a plus in the city.
We have recommended this Inn to other friends and would certainly stay here again, or one of the "sister" inns, that are within a block of the Coventry.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After Arriving by car, you enter the hotel Via A lift situated in the Garage Facing the Reception.
Parking is not a problem & there is a lower ground floor if street level is full.

The rooms are quite spacious & Clean, the décor is not 2013... more like 2000-2005, but still nice condition wise, and both rooms memory foam mattresses.....nice touch and so comfortable!

The Staff in the Reception are efficient and could be described as quick to accommodate..maybe too quick, but Its not uncommon for hasty dealings to be muddled as rude.. and rude is not their aim.

Hotel location wise is pretty good, its easy to get anywhere by electric bus or tram, and the restaurant 2 blocks left of the hotel along Lombard (Mel's drive in) is a really good place for breakfast 50's style set up complete with booths and rock ola's ... really nice.

Would I stay there again?... yes I certainly would, but as I stayed there two nights... I moved my room to one around the corner for the second night... and heard virtually nothing... that's the only complaint... Lombard street is a very noisy street from 4am with traffic.

Room Tip: Try to Obtain a room not Facing Lombard Street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabbyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews