We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very Nice Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this motel. It is located not far from the Wharf and much less costly than the major hotel there. The staff was very pleasant and our rooms, although old in decor, were just right for a two-night stay where we were taking in an event about a mile away. The room was very clean as was the property and the parking did not cost anything. We have stayed many times in the downtown area and near SFO but we will stay here next time when we visit in the Marina, Chinatown and Golden Gate Park neighborhoods.

There are numerous restaurants and small shops nearby and Union Street is but a block away. We left our car in the garage and walked to our event and to the cafes nearby. It was a great location and one to note in our travels.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Lombard. Ours was to the rear and was virtually noiseless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flextravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    657
    95
    15
    2
See reviews for
400
704
54
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The room was big, clean and free wi-fi is available. Parking is a bonus as it could be quite difficult to park anywhere in the city.
Location is good (the tour buses stop down the road and you can buy the tickets from the hotel reception).
There are plenty of bars very close and for breakfast, Mel's diner is round the corner.
Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the main road as it could be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn 5 nights last week. Our room was quiet, very clean, comfortable, beautiful and exceeded our expectations.The bed was great- TempurPedic king mattress- and a large flat panel cable tv. Great bathroom. A great work area. Ironing board with iron, coffeemaker, etc.,wifi and covered parking and elevator are included in the reasonable room rate. Hotel is in great location. The staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you front desk Tony. We will definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
580 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Coventry Motor Inn and couldn't have been more pleased. I asked for a quiet room and got just that! The price per night was so good that it must be one of the best deals in San Francisco, particularly when one considers free covered parking and free wifi.
The room was spacious with a safe, plenty of storage and coffee making facilities. A fridge would have been useful but I understand you can request these.
The room was very clean the bed comfortable and the heating very efficient.
There is a great restaurant diagonally across the side road on Buchanan Street called the Brazen Head. It is not glaring at you but in a discrete position with atmospheric lighting, a real buzz and excellent food at reasonable prices.
The location of the Coventry Motor Inn is very good and even from Union Square, a taxi back is only about 12 dollars. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
All in all, an excellent find and if I had a car in San Francisco. this is the obvious place to stay if you are looking for good value for money in a very comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, it will probably be an inner room with no view but it is quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just got back from walking to dinner at Fisherman's Wharf! Yes, we are that close!!! For under $100 and free parking, we are able to enjoy this fab city and eat everywhere, all in walking distance. For the same $30 you would spend on parking, I'm having an obscenely overpriced cocktail at the St. Regis!! Great bed, new crisp sheets, marble floors in the bathroom. It is a motor inn, so there are no bell men or concierge, but very kind front desk and an elevator. Great option!! Love it here!!

Room Tip: as always, just ask for a high floor away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supa-Andra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spend 3 nights in this hotel. The location is great, near many restaurants and shops. The rooms are amazing and the service is perfect. I just had some issues with the noise in the rooms : we ear a lot of cars... The windows is not silencious enought.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Lauraera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in september and had a great stay. The hotel is conveniently located: walking distance from trendy chestnut street and not far from the fisherman's pier. There is also a convenience store at the corner across the street.
The bedrooms are large, bed comfortable, bathroom spotless. Receptionists were professional and helpful but don't expect the LA style enthusiasm. Very good price for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#76 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#48 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#82 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
#39 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#38 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing