We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Ranked #112 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to explore San Fran and were happy with it generally. I think for the price and location we would of given it 5 stars, but due to the poor breakfast and having nowhere to eat it (foyer only) then we drop it to 4 stars.
We turned up in a Ford Escape and found the parking absolutely fine, there were spaces but I think there's plenty of room to fit a car even when full. The turning circles are a bit tight but much bigger than I was expecting reading some of the reviews.
The rooms were clean, the shower was great and it was about a 25 minute walk to the piers ( a bit further if you want to go to Alcatraz).
There is a tour bus which stops right outside the hotel, though I warn you that we read up on it and the reviews aren't great. Not only that, it's expensive! It also does not run after 6ish so you still have to purchase other means of transport or walk, when you've paid the high price that's not ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 772 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

The good thing about it was that the parking is free because to park anywhere in San Francisco its a small fortune. We were only there for 2 days so it was ok but the pier and wharf where a hike...they say its close but its about a good 20-25 minute walk ...so the day we went to the wharf, we found a reasonable parking area and left the car there..The room was basic..they have a continental breakfast in the morning which is just muffins, pastries, apples, bananas, orange juice and coffee but if you get there a little late...its all gone!..Lots of europeans there the week we stayed. If we decide to go back, we'll try the Wharf Inn which also has free parking and is closer to all the action..all the other hotels get between $250-$300 a night and the $46 A DAY fee for parking..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria22066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was fair hotel for its price, location was good and in walking distance to Fisherman's wharf and not too far from Golden Gate Bridge and city centre. Rooms were spacious and clean.Staff were alson helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertokralik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

As other reviewers have noted this hotel provides free parking for one vehicle which is super convenient for SF. The outside of the hotel is attractive and our room was just as advertised. It was a nice size and had a large bathroom. The furnishings are out of date but the room was clean. The bed was okay. The front desk staff was nice. They also offer continental breakfast of fruit and pastries with good coffee and juice. The location is great - near lots of shops and restaurants and within walking distance of many of San Francisco's tourist spots. We would stay again if wanting to save some money on a hotel room just for a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Lombard Street because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlubirdTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Free Parking=major plus. The rooms were pretty nice and clean. The walls were a bit scuffed with black marks from shoes or suit cases, and the paint in the bathroom (because there was no fan to reduce moisture) was pealing/flaking away. Our room faced Lombard, but we didn't have any bother with traffic noise. There is a hop on/hop off bus that stops right outside the hotel. Breakfast was nothing great, but better than nothing at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrieb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Here are the pluses:
Free parking. Considering its San Francisco that's a great benefit.
Friendly service. The front desk was super helpful in providing us with maps for the area, suggesting places to eat, and just generally answering questions.
Near shops and restaurants. About 10 minutes walking distance to a host of eating places and boutique shops. The location is excellent.
On bus tour route: The Big Bus hop on bus stop is virtually at the door, so great to just purchase your ticket at the front desk and then hop on the bus for a tour of San Francisco.
The downside:
I wouldn't rave about the continental breakfast - pretty limited selection but you do get coffee and juice and some pastries.
The bedroom and bathroom are a little tired and in need of renovation. However, the room is fairly big, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, so that was a plus.

Overall a comfortable stay and good value for money

However, overall, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

the hotel is very simple, no frills. but the price was right. We didn't rent a car, but if you have a car parking is free (which is a great deal in San Fran). Our bed was a king, comfy enough. Furniture is dated, but if you want "heavenly beds" and modern furniture, you can pay more at a different hotel. Shower was good, water hot. Amenities were sufficient. Windows to the room open, and the rooms have a window a/c unit which worked well. Great coffee in the morning with the complimentary continental breakfast (sweet breads, fruit, coffee, juice). Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean enough (carpet is dated, bring slippers). I'd stay here again if I return. You can't beat the price for the location.

Room Tip: our room faced gough street which was fine. I was so tired from walking I slept hard so I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
610 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
1,175 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#149 of 230 in San Francisco
559 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
846 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $131 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing