We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Reasonable rates...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Ranked #103 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable rates...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The good thing about it was that the parking is free because to park anywhere in San Francisco its a small fortune. We were only there for 2 days so it was ok but the pier and wharf where a hike...they say its close but its about a good 20-25 minute walk ...so the day we went to the wharf, we found a reasonable parking area and left the car there..The room was basic..they have a continental breakfast in the morning which is just muffins, pastries, apples, bananas, orange juice and coffee but if you get there a little late...its all gone!..Lots of europeans there the week we stayed. If we decide to go back, we'll try the Wharf Inn which also has free parking and is closer to all the action..all the other hotels get between $250-$300 a night and the $46 A DAY fee for parking..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria22066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    319
    195
    45
    18
See reviews for
188
297
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was fair hotel for its price, location was good and in walking distance to Fisherman's wharf and not too far from Golden Gate Bridge and city centre. Rooms were spacious and clean.Staff were alson helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertokralik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

As other reviewers have noted this hotel provides free parking for one vehicle which is super convenient for SF. The outside of the hotel is attractive and our room was just as advertised. It was a nice size and had a large bathroom. The furnishings are out of date but the room was clean. The bed was okay. The front desk staff was nice. They also offer continental breakfast of fruit and pastries with good coffee and juice. The location is great - near lots of shops and restaurants and within walking distance of many of San Francisco's tourist spots. We would stay again if wanting to save some money on a hotel room just for a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Lombard Street because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlubirdTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Free Parking=major plus. The rooms were pretty nice and clean. The walls were a bit scuffed with black marks from shoes or suit cases, and the paint in the bathroom (because there was no fan to reduce moisture) was pealing/flaking away. Our room faced Lombard, but we didn't have any bother with traffic noise. There is a hop on/hop off bus that stops right outside the hotel. Breakfast was nothing great, but better than nothing at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrieb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Here are the pluses:
Free parking. Considering its San Francisco that's a great benefit.
Friendly service. The front desk was super helpful in providing us with maps for the area, suggesting places to eat, and just generally answering questions.
Near shops and restaurants. About 10 minutes walking distance to a host of eating places and boutique shops. The location is excellent.
On bus tour route: The Big Bus hop on bus stop is virtually at the door, so great to just purchase your ticket at the front desk and then hop on the bus for a tour of San Francisco.
The downside:
I wouldn't rave about the continental breakfast - pretty limited selection but you do get coffee and juice and some pastries.
The bedroom and bathroom are a little tired and in need of renovation. However, the room is fairly big, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, so that was a plus.

Overall a comfortable stay and good value for money

However, overall, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

the hotel is very simple, no frills. but the price was right. We didn't rent a car, but if you have a car parking is free (which is a great deal in San Fran). Our bed was a king, comfy enough. Furniture is dated, but if you want "heavenly beds" and modern furniture, you can pay more at a different hotel. Shower was good, water hot. Amenities were sufficient. Windows to the room open, and the rooms have a window a/c unit which worked well. Great coffee in the morning with the complimentary continental breakfast (sweet breads, fruit, coffee, juice). Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean enough (carpet is dated, bring slippers). I'd stay here again if I return. You can't beat the price for the location.

Room Tip: our room faced gough street which was fine. I was so tired from walking I slept hard so I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel end of August 2013. It's reasonably priced. It comes with free continental breakfast and WiFi. Though the hotel is oldish and the room is clean but small, the location is pretty central. The room we had was good as it was not facing Lombard Street. They offer free parking for one car as most hotels in San Francisco charges parking fee. There is a small, nice Chinese Restaurant called Hai Sun on Laguna Street (between Lombard and Greenwich Sts). They do takeaway and dine in. Overall, the hotel is satisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agape99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#143 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#106 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#75 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#140 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#104 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#124 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Property: Buena Vista Motor Inn
Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing