We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Centrally located to tourist sites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Centrally located to tourist sites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great place to stay in San Francisco. You can walk a few blocks to Fisherman's Wharf, shorter to cable cars, and the world's crookedest street is just up the road.
The room was large and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful with local restaurant choices. After reading a few other reviews I was slightly concerned about the parking. This turned out to be no problem. The parking garage had two areas and if you had an issue finding a spot the front desk asked to let them know and they would handle your parking. It was no tighter then any other big city parking garage but we're from the east coast so maybe it's considered a tight squeeze locally in SF. Continental breakfast here is the norm of most US motels, pastries, coffee, OJ, tea and fresh fruit from 7-10am. Our room was clean quiet and was very comfortable, the bath was updated and the shower was strong. Great place to stay in the Marina area of SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RegularRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    314
    194
    44
    18
See reviews for
182
295
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wasnt expecting much but was OK i suppose.

As i kind of knew what i was getting myself into i was prepared for the hotel.

Great location and free parking with a pastry breakfast and a cup of coffee in the morning.

The person that checked us in had a terrible personality not that he was rude or anything just not engaging or friendly. However the other person that we delt with at reception was friendly i think he was the manager cause he seemed to care a little bit more.

The room smelled of stale smoke and was a little dated. the sheets of the bed actually had cigarette holes burned in it and the carpet was very old i wouldnt be walking around in my bear feet on it anyway

we had a smoking room which none of us smoke im nit actually sure if there is a non smoking room because every corridor smelt of smoke

we ended up just spraying deodorant to mask the smell every day as leaving the window open was not an option due to the noise from the street

also the air-conditioner unit is really noisy we didnt use it as was not that warm but if you did need to use it you would not be able to sleep with the noise of it

We just put up with it as the price was right parking was free and location was good.

If money was not as tight as it is i would stay well away from this place.

Room Tip: If there is a non smoking room request it as the place stinks of smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Checky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Checky 88,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time of writing a comment about your stay. We are sorry that your experience did not match your expectations. We are going through a lot of changes at the moment and are working on improving the service at the Buena Vista Motor Inn. All the details that you pointed out regarding housekeeping have been addressed, thank you for letting us know.
We would be very glad if you were willing to give us another chance next time you stay in San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

lfddfl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout stay. Location was within reasonable walking distance of several attractions. Open Top Bus tour stops directly in front of hotel lobby. Room was clean and suitable for family. Stayed in a Lombard St. side room. Some traffic noise early in the evening but definitely nothing to prevent a nights sleep. Safety and Security was not an issue during our stay. Lobby and breakfast area is small but adequate for the limited time we spent in the hotel. The interior finishes could use some work and updates. WiFi worked well. Parking was tight for larger vehicles but free! Would definitely consider staying again on future trips to SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lfddfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a very nice clean motel with parking space, which is a must in San Francisco since the parking is so expensive! the motel also give FREE wifi and a complimentary breakfast! I would highly recommend this motel to anyone that wants somewhere decent at a good location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yrs555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear YRS55,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review about the Buena Vista Motor Inn. Our goal is to help our customer having the best stay possible, we are very happy that you liked our hotel and all the amenities we offer including Free Parking and Free Breakfast.
Please let us know if you ever plan to come back to San Francisco, we would be more than happy to accommodate you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Best thing here was easy walking to cable car, Fisherman's Wharf. Room could have been cleaner but bed was very comfy. We did get a parking space w/ our room but WOW - tight quarters! We didn't move the car during our stay for fear of not having a space to use on our return. I guess by San Fran prices, it was a good value. Breakfast was just pastries, beverages, apples/bananas. And only available at 7am. Not early enough for an east coaster that just got in the afternoon before!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,137 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Easy to find on Lombard St (highway 101) and conveniently located for walking to many of the cities attractions. Also a stop out front for hop on/hop off tourist buses. We had a non street facing room which is recommended although friends using earplugs in street facing room had no major problem with street noise. Place is showing its age but everything clean and tidy and in working order. Room is a good size. Free wifi worked well and while no laundry, nearby laundrette (one block away) was good. Parking is entered off Lombard Street, 2 levels with separate entrances. It was a bit tight for my larger SUV but worked out OK. Could improve quality of towels, many showing age and over stay, 2 towels developed tears/holes in them while being used. Breakfast very basic with pastries, muffins and fresh fruit. No refrigerator in room but ice available. Location worked for us with 3 block walk to Union St and its bars, shops and restaurants, walking to Fishermans Wharf took 20mins, Alcatraz wharf 30 mins and 30mins to Washington Sq. Overall we had a comfortable stay but place needs some TLC and would not be my first choice if returning to San Francisco.

Room Tip: ask for room that doesn't face Lombard St
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Considering the location and how inexpensive the rate was, this was a great place to stay. Not much of a breakfast but that was ok, because we already knew that due to the review. Walking distance to Golden Gate Bridge, Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#140 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#105 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#75 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#139 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Marina District
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#104 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 75 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Property: Buena Vista Motor Inn
Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing