We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Ranked #106 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Myerstown Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Best thing here was easy walking to cable car, Fisherman's Wharf. Room could have been cleaner but bed was very comfy. We did get a parking space w/ our room but WOW - tight quarters! We didn't move the car during our stay for fear of not having a space to use on our return. I guess by San Fran prices, it was a good value. Breakfast was just pastries, beverages, apples/bananas. And only available at 7am. Not early enough for an east coaster that just got in the afternoon before!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    321
    197
    48
    19
See reviews for
192
302
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,147 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Easy to find on Lombard St (highway 101) and conveniently located for walking to many of the cities attractions. Also a stop out front for hop on/hop off tourist buses. We had a non street facing room which is recommended although friends using earplugs in street facing room had no major problem with street noise. Place is showing its age but everything clean and tidy and in working order. Room is a good size. Free wifi worked well and while no laundry, nearby laundrette (one block away) was good. Parking is entered off Lombard Street, 2 levels with separate entrances. It was a bit tight for my larger SUV but worked out OK. Could improve quality of towels, many showing age and over stay, 2 towels developed tears/holes in them while being used. Breakfast very basic with pastries, muffins and fresh fruit. No refrigerator in room but ice available. Location worked for us with 3 block walk to Union St and its bars, shops and restaurants, walking to Fishermans Wharf took 20mins, Alcatraz wharf 30 mins and 30mins to Washington Sq. Overall we had a comfortable stay but place needs some TLC and would not be my first choice if returning to San Francisco.

Room Tip: ask for room that doesn't face Lombard St
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Considering the location and how inexpensive the rate was, this was a great place to stay. Not much of a breakfast but that was ok, because we already knew that due to the review. Walking distance to Golden Gate Bridge, Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Finding two rooms together in San Francisco, on a June weekend was tough unless we wanted to pay multiple hundreds of dollars a night. The booking agent helped me find a place and this one was the only one left in the area we needed to be in, near the wharf.
She requested neighboring rooms as we needed two for our number of guests. That didn't happen though we were only a few doors away. Still, they had plenty of time to accommodate our request and were originally booked on different floors. So much for honoring a request...
We got a room on the side of the bldg with a very close neighbor who decided that this was the night for a noisy get together on their small deck area. Went well past midnight and they might as well have been in the room with us... The room was cramped and old. All aspects of it were old and worn. Paint job was crappy, peeling patches, bed mattress was noisy, even! Scrunch,scrunch all night long. Traffic echoed through the space between bldgs. Bathroom is not well vented so you immediately have a sauna taking a shower and cannot get dry in there or see yourself in the bathroom mirror.
Parking was quite cramped, though it was free and in the ground and basement levels of the building.
The bill was over three hundred dollars for two rooms taxes, etc included. Not worth it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a back room on the west side, away from both cross streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bartholomew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

wiltshire england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

stayed here for a week 30th april - 6th may, recpetion staff were ignorant and didnt speak when they saw you, the hotel smelt musty and is very old and dated, even after a shower you didnt feel clean, breaksfast was of very poor standard, we went else where for ours, hubby went to use a towel and it was all holey, decor is poor not welcoming at all, good location tho, wish i had checked on trip adviser before booking this, cos i wouldnt of gone near it. ONE WORD, AVOID!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themalletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience, We are sincerely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and be certain that some actions have been taken. Our staff is usually friendly and helpful but it seems that it wasn’t the case during your stay, I would like to apologize for the service that was given to you, rest assured that some corrections have been done and our training will continue to reach the best costumer service possible. The towels are checked when washed and you shouldn’t have found a damaged in your room, this issue has been addressed as well with the housekeeping team. We are currently working on the betterment of our breakfast and hope we will find the right formula to please the biggest number.
We would really appreciate to have another chance to show you what The Buena Vista Motor Inn is about, please contact me next time you plan to stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The only reason we booked here was for the parking as we were on a roadtrip. For some reason one of the car parks was shut (think they were decorating) There were only 2 disabled spaces left so we went and asked where to park. The guy at the front desk was very unhelpful, but told us to park in the shaded area in a tight corner. We did as we were told, but felt uneasy about this. The next day 2 cars had completely blocked us in, good job we weren't needing the car until the next day. Thank goodness that the other car park appeared to open that day as we were no longer blocked in.

Check-in was OK- the guy seemed disinterested and had no customer service skills whatsoever. He obviously did not want to be there. Not a good start to our San Fan.

Our room was OK- dated but relatively clean and comfortable. The location was good right on Lombard street and 10 minutes walk from Fishermans wharf. Was good that we could have coffee or orange juice and some pastries in the foyer for breakfast. Very basic but did the job.

We had an OK stay in the end, but they could make the hotel so much better with some improvements and if they hired staff who actually care then that would make the experience so much better for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very nice hotel located on Lombard Street.
Easy to reach by car to the main sights of San Francisco (Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard Street convoluted, Telegraph Hill, Golden Gate Bridge, etc.).
Indoor parking is also free for hotel guests.
There is free internet in rooms with good signal.
Rooms are clean and equipped with television and ironing set.
Reasonable price.

No fridge in the rooms.
Breakfast is poor and consists of coffee, cakes, fruit and juice only.
Breakfast is served in the lobby and you can eat sitting on the couches in the lobby (if they are not busy).
If there is no room in the lobby, you can take the elevator to the third floor and eat a small dining room.
If you want to take something more to eat, you will have to take the elevator down to the lobby and then go up again to the third floor.

Room Tip: Better to choose the rooms facing south backyard. Northern rooms facing the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve the breakfast in the limited space we have in the hotel. I hope on your next visit that you will find some improvements in thebreakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#143 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#107 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#139 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#108 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#82 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Property: Buena Vista Motor Inn
Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing