We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value hotel downtown! Plus Free Parking!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Ranked #120 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Winchester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, value hotel downtown! Plus Free Parking!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I couldn't be happier with my decision to stay here for two nights. The price can't be beat plus when you throw in free parking it puts it over the top. The only reason this isn't five stars is because of how loud the traffic is if your room is near the road. I'm not for sure if all the rooms are near the road but ours was right on Lombard and it sounds like a racetrack day and night there. However, even with that being said I plan to stay here again if I ever venture to San Francisco again. The staff were all great and helpful. The room had a nice size bathroom, the bed was average with a microwave but no fridge.

One suggestion that helped us get a discount was to use the promo code "MAN" when booking the room. This was for the manager's special and it saved us some money! So in summary if you can put up with the noise then you'll be fine here!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms by the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    350
    210
    54
    23
See reviews for
223
317
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had 2 rooms at the motor inn. Very reasonable prices for its location .Both were basic but clean and spacious. Plenty of parking spaces which are free whic is amuse for San fran, as parking is very very expensive. Location is great , only 10 mins from Fishy Wharf and also near Mel's diner for breakfast . Would recommend this hotel , ex specially if you have a vehicle.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammondarsenal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We chose the hotel due to its location and price. The location was great. The hotel itself was awful. The hotel smelled bad, our room had a broken window (which was taped together) and the rooms had paper thin walls. Hotel was loud at night, made it impossible to sleep. Manager extremely rude. Would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson9965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on our 2010 trip to SanFran. The accomodation is simple but clean. There are vendor machines in the aisles and a parking lot. You also have a breakfast with muffins and coffee every morning. The location is great.

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We travelled as a family. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable. The complementary breakfast included pastries, fruit, tea and coffee. The breakfast area is in the Lobby, there are no tables to eat at, so be early, so you can sit on one of the three seat lounge suites. Free parking in central San Francisco is a very good feature. It is a 20-25 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. There are a number of good restaurants nearby. Can't get much better value in central San Francisco.we would stay again. The photo of the Golden Gate bridge from the upper level, must have been taken from the top rung of a step ladder, however this is of little issue, the hotel is well located.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JW_1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed at the Buena Vista Mtor Inn many times over the years. I've always liked it because it has great staff and a very personal, down home feeling, and is in a great location with good pricing. It is a great spot for International travelers, and I alwways meet interesting people there.
But this place REALLY NEEDS to be updated and cleaned up - the wear and tear on the place is more than obvious - and there is so much that is outdated, and really just down right dirty - that I would never stay there again. I'm sure I can find a similiar place at the same rate - but one that is clean with new towels and linens and beds and rugs - and clean windows, etc., etc.
The staff was still exceptional and the continential breakfast and coffee are very nice - but the other faults outweight the positive for me.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank CAROL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Buena Vista. San was amazing with check in, bookings of tours, information on local restaurants, what and where to see San francisco's best, photocopying maps and making sure i was aok. My back room was quaint clean and roomy and so quiet. Breakfast is basic and quite adequate - juice coffee pastries and fruit.
San Francisco tour bus stops at the front door of the hotel. local restaurants 2 minute walk to Union street, Italian restaurant sensational dining.
San Francisco is such a friendly city and my first visit started off with such smiles and welcomes at Buena Vista motor inn. The rate for accommodation was so reasonable considering I stayed the first round of America's cup trials.
Make sure you visit Union square, Chinese gardens, Haight Ashbury and wear a flower in your hair, cross the Golden gate bridge, ride the cable car and start that early as the queues get so long after lunch even week days, the incredible seafood restaurants at Fisherman's wharf, Pier 39 and be mesmerised by the local seals and buy some of the freshest tastiest fruit ever from the local market at the Pier. Many wonderful memories from this welcoming city.

Room Tip: Always ask for a back room as Lombard Street so busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
576 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#115 of 229 in San Francisco
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#107 of 229 in San Francisco
830 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
773 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge by the Bay
Travelodge by the Bay
#11 of 50 in San Francisco
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Property: Buena Vista Motor Inn
Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing