We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great choice of accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Ranked #104 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great choice of accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Buena Vista. San was amazing with check in, bookings of tours, information on local restaurants, what and where to see San francisco's best, photocopying maps and making sure i was aok. My back room was quaint clean and roomy and so quiet. Breakfast is basic and quite adequate - juice coffee pastries and fruit.
San Francisco tour bus stops at the front door of the hotel. local restaurants 2 minute walk to Union street, Italian restaurant sensational dining.
San Francisco is such a friendly city and my first visit started off with such smiles and welcomes at Buena Vista motor inn. The rate for accommodation was so reasonable considering I stayed the first round of America's cup trials.
Make sure you visit Union square, Chinese gardens, Haight Ashbury and wear a flower in your hair, cross the Golden gate bridge, ride the cable car and start that early as the queues get so long after lunch even week days, the incredible seafood restaurants at Fisherman's wharf, Pier 39 and be mesmerised by the local seals and buy some of the freshest tastiest fruit ever from the local market at the Pier. Many wonderful memories from this welcoming city.

Room Tip: Always ask for a back room as Lombard Street so busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    319
    195
    45
    18
See reviews for
188
298
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Buena Vista Motor Inn recently and we were very disappointed as we were expecting more due to the images and hotel description. We know that it is considered an affordable hotel so we weren't expecting the Ritz but it we were expecting more of a lobby since they described it as "elegant" on their site - its basically a 1980's room.

The room had a very strong perfume smell that didn't go away throughout our stay. The toiletries were minimal and they had small thin blankets to keep you warm. There were no screens on our windows so we couldn't open them - the hotel did offer A/C (wall unit). We stayed with a "street view" but bushes were impeding any type of view that we had.

The staff at the lobby was fairly accommodating - very dull personality though. The sink is disconnected from the shower so when I got ready, I would ultimately wake up my boyfriend since the bathroom wasn't in a separate room.

SF is an expensive city - would I stay there again? No, I would rather save my money and look for a different option.

**Pros: Free parking, convenient location (not much to do though).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waldorfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wasn't sure when I would arrive in The City since I was driving down the coastline from Washington State, so didn't book any room. I knew I wanted to stay in the Marina so drove on Lombard Street. As expected there are tons of hotels/motels so chose this property since it looked nice and was conveniently located. The room was OK, but definitely needed some paint since there was multiple scruff marks on the walls and one outlet didn't work since it was barely attached to the wall. No refrigerator or microwave. Guess my expectations were too high. Free parking was a nice bonus unlike properties downtown which charge an arm and a leg. Breakfast consisted of juices, coffee/tea, and store-bought pastries. Oh and some fresh fruit. You are in walking distance of the Fillmore, Union, and Chestnut Street areas, all containing very hip shops and eateries. The front desk folks weren't very knowledgeable about the area which was a bit surprising, since this is a big tourist town. Overall I would recommend, basically for OK rooms and convenience sake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside since rooms facing Lombard can be rather loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tokyorose50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in Sept 2012 as the cost was less than hotels located at Fisherman's Wharf. The room was comfortable, clean and good value. We found the staff helpful and the inclusive breakfast of orange juice, fruit, coffee and a variety of pastries was an added bonus. It was, also, only a short walk to the crooked street, Fishermans Wharf and local bus services. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel would be quieter, although we were directly overlooking Lomba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We rolled into San Fran without pre-booking anything and found this gem. It's not the Hilton, but it was clean, friendly staff and, well, it was clean! Another big plus besides the awesome price was that there was no parking fee, which can be pretty costly. All in all, it's awesome overall value for where you are. Also worth mentioning, not sure if they are supposed to but they let us keep our vehicle in the parking garage for about an extra 5 hours after checkout, very cool!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn_Bobbi_Jendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I booked the hotel from England and had quite a few schedule changes before we actually arrived. One request was to leave a motor cycle in the parking garage for a week whilst we hired a car to travel around the State. We were staying two nights then returning a week later for one night.

The staff handled all the requests and schedule changes without any problem. They kept in touch by email and sent confirmation invoices each time. They let us leave the motorcycle in the parking garage for FREE. That alone saved us about $50 a day!

Yes breakfast is in the lobby but that's no big deal. It's great coffee and fresh pastries. It worked for us and got us out quickly to see SF.

The cost of the room was amazing considering the location. We walked to Fishermans Wharf quite easily and driving back in on the 101 to the hotel was easy.

The room was great. Clean and comfortable and well furnished.

The first stay we had a wall as our view - first floor, the second stay was also at the back but on the second floor so with more daylight. Both were really quiet and I slept really well in a very comfortable bed. Hell if you are worried about the view from the hotel get outside and see the City. We only slept there anyway!

They also organise a $16 bus transfer to the airport.

The staff were great, the room was really good and the location was perfect. We would definitely stay there again. No complaints.

Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBritChick
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on 12/13 September 2012.We found that there are very few middle of the ground hotel/motels in san francisco - everywhere is either too expenisve or looks crap and dirty (and expensive) Buena Vista I think was right for us. we had both a king suite and a double queen room as a party of 5. Get the bad points out of the way first - it is a little dirty in places but I'm only talking about general use as in scuff marks on wall and the odd bit of dirt on carpet and floors. That's about that.
The location is really good 10/15 minute walk down to Fisherman's Wharf. Or 10/15min walk up hill to the twisty part of Lombard street.at night if you dont want to eat down at the wharf there are nice reatsaunts up two blocks to Union street . We ate in the italian on first night and it was excellent. the breakfast is fine- tea and coffee bananas and apples and various pastries(fine as all included in the price and saves you some money at the start of the day). Car parking is free and off the street.(it is tight but you will find a space).
Overall this hotel is a good place to stay for a few nights in San Francisco.it is reasonably priced for a stay in the city and we had no issues.
I would happily recommend Buena Vista to anyone that doesn't have unrealistic expectations for a hotel located where this is and the price you will pay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank francey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrelld, Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#143 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#109 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#138 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#105 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#124 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Property: Buena Vista Motor Inn
Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing