We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Motel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel Capri
Ranked #125 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2014. We got the room for under $150.00 per night, which was great value. The location of the hotel is fantastic - the neighborhood offers easy access to all tourist sights & also has great restaurants, coffee shops and bars nearby. The motel was recently renovated, so the room was quite nice. The good: the decor of the room is great, they provide fresh sheets, a bar fridge, a room safe and a good television. The bad: the mattress was old and too soft, the bed was old and creaky, there's no phone in the room (not a big issue) and the motel can be a bit loud in the mornings (keep the air conditioner on for white noise). The staff were great and they offered muffins and coffee every morning, but we never bothered so I can't comment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the stairs and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 509 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights with our friends who were also a couple. The location was great, quiet but a 10 minute walk from the bay. For us, we thought the hotel looked funky from the outside although our American friends thought it looked tacky.Whilst we agreed that it could've done with a lick of paint, we were pleasantly surprised. There was limited free parking outside however we didn't move the car the whole time we were there, so I assumed others didn't either. The rooms were great, really modern with a huge TV. Not really sure what the craic is with the bathrooms though, as felt like shower had been renovated but the rest of the room was really dated. The rooms were great, but we could hear the heavy footed people above us each night. The free breakfast is no frills. It's served in the dated reception where there's a toaster with some bread, a pastry, cereal, orange juice and coffee. People have been complaining, but do remember that it's a free breakfast... The room was very very clean and cleaners very pleasant. I would recommend the Motel Capri, but don't expect a 5* experience. It is a motel after all...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mayah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Capri motel San Francisco recently. We got there early and were allowed to go in. The room wax nice but bathroom was very outdated but functioned fine. It has limited free parking . We never moved our car once there for fear we wouldn't get another spot. The motel is in a good location to walk a lot which we did. The public transportation is very convenient to the motel as well. It's gets loud at nite with doors banging and people in street. The lobby is dreadful and breakfast a joke. The people in the off ice are not attentive at all, staying in back yapping to each other.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank stedenCapeCod_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

SFO is booming and accomodations keep getting more expensive. I stayed at the Capri recently (6/15/14 for 3 nts). A Sunday nt was $229.99, Monday was $169.99 and Tuesday the rate jumped back up to $229.99. When I inquired at the desk why a Tuesday would cost so much I was told they have changed their rate structure to reflect supply and demand. If the motel wasn't heavily booked on Tuesday the rate would have been lower. $229.99 PLUS tax (18.5% I think) is high for what you get. The location is great but depending on what you want or need, I would really put some work into researching rates for places to stay in the Marina district.

Room Tip: I advise travelers to look at the room the front desk wants to assign them before putting your lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmprats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice location not on noisy Lombard Str. The lobby is not nice very depressing. Breakfast is cereal white bread /toast and OJ. Rooms have been remodeled but NOT the bathrooms!! Shower had very little hot water. Bathroom was missing toilet paper holder, soap dish had had something growing in it and ceiling had mold spots. Microwave did not work. My TV did not work told front desk and girl did nothing about it. Room had a VERY strong deodorizer smell like they were trying to cover something up. You can hear other guests doors slamming early in the morning. They are AAA so ask for discount. Bed was adequate if not for location and other hotels being sold out I would have moved.

Room Tip: ASK for QUIET room!!! Higher floor better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The interior of the room is deceiving simply by looking from the exterior. The rooms are surprisingly modern, clean & neat. We had the room (2 queen beds) for our family of 4 and it is enough to house everyone.

They served breakfast but unfortunately, there is no proper sitting area so you either have your toast standing around the lobby or bring them to your room. Please don't have too high expectation of their breakfast spread (nothing great to shout about!)

They have parking lots for guests and they are free. The motel is quiet since it is off the main road and you can walk to Lombard Street which is 2 blocks away. We walked to the nearby bus stop to catch the bus to Union Square.

Cab fare cost us about US55 (including gratuity) from airport to motel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Clean room, nice and helpful staff.
The wifi connection was not very reliable and breakfast was crappy.
Overall this hotel ok for a cheap cost.
The staff was helpful and let us place our rental bicycles in the room for safe keeping over night!
Very close to Lombard street and not to far from Fishermans wharf!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
610 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#162 of 230 in San Francisco
241 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,586 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Capri

Address: 2015 Greenwich St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3518
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $132 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel San Francisco
Capri Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing