We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fresh and innovative”
Review of Kabuto Sushi

Kabuto Sushi
Ranked #1,559 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super fresh and innovative”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I love their specialty sushi, they are innovative, taste amazing and you can get them anywhere else. The price is also right, very affordable. Service is great and often, when they bring the sushi over, they'll tell you not to use soya sauce which can ruin the taste of it. They also have some amazing soft crab which tasted naturally sweet.

This is an amazing sushi place. If you're tired of the usual maki rolls and the basic sushi, then this is a must visit to try something new.

Some of the sushi I ordered included:
-wahoo with grapefruit
-hamachi(?) topped with pear and mustard
-halibut ceviche fish
-hamachi sashimi with jalepeno
-tuna tasting plate with 4 types of tuna, white, bluefin, big eye and red tuna
-soft shell crab roll topped with salmon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 613VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Only been 1 time, but will return. . .”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had sushi w/ 3 others, at around 8:30 on a Wednesday night. Pretty quiet by then, had steady service by the waitress, and received orders from the sushi chef very quickly. We had the toro, hamachi, sake, amaebi, ahi, uni (live), maguro, and ankimo. Everything was excellently prepared and all nigiri was very good, except perhaps the ahi, which lacked the marinade that make it special. We also tried the negi-hama roll. The portions were good size, and the presentation was thoughtful.
3 beers and a glass of wine brought the total to $ 225 before the tip. Not cheap, but reasonable for good fresh sushi.
We'll try again in a few weeks to see about consistency.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, excellent value. Don't miss.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a little sushi joint on the busy Geary Street in SF. Our first shock was seeing how inexpensive the Omakase menu was!!! For only $65 you get about 11 to 12 courses (we lost count), mostly sushi but also soup and dessert. Many courses were not only creative but tasty. We also ordered Unagi a la carte. BEST unagi we ever had! According Michilin Guide, this restaurant imported their fish from Japan. So, choose wisely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank memedutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very fresh sushi”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a great time at this restaurant. The foods was were very fresh and they had some very interesting and creative sushi with amazing flavour. Staffs were friendly and price was very affordable.

Recommend to make a reservation cuz they are busy. I was really glad I made a reservation.When I got there with my SO, there were 2 seats left at the sushi bar for us at 6pm on a weekday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 613VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been going to Kabuto for years. It's small and not fancy, but food is great. Always order from special menu only, and try their inventive creations. Our favorites are Valentine, Hamachi Pear, Ono Grape and much more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuto Sushi also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Kabuto Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing