We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$386
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Handlery Union Square Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$211
$198
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$254
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$163
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$489
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
478
247
42
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
247
42
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharepresidential suitetimeshare presentationfull kitchenone bedroom unitfree breakfasttimeshare propertytimeshare saleswasher and dryerliving roomwelcome packunion squareconcierge desksmall kitchenettepull out couchpublic transportationsutter st
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 795 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

When I travel with the kids I usually use VRBO, but the responce rate in San Francisco was terrible. This was the first time I used the TripAdvisor vacation rentals. Everyone I contacted on TripAdvisor responded right back. The Canterbury was the best deal I could find. The hotel room was spacious and close enough to Powell and Union Square so you could use all of the MUNI to get all over the city.

Stop by the Walgreens two blocks down on Powell and Sutter to buy you MUNI pass for your stay. It works on all of the mass transit but the BART. Avoid using the Powell cable car to get around it is slow and crazily over crowded. If you do want to ride it, avoid trying to catch it a Powell and Market unless you have a couple of hours to kill, just catch it on Powell and Sutter.

The front desk was extremely helpful and provided guides, recommendations to nearby reasonably priced restaurants, even some with coupons. They don't provide daily maid service, but we were there 5 nights and it was not a problem. The gym is adequately equipped for a workout: free weights, CYBEX treadmill, ellipticals, and weight machines.

The nice thing is it is just as convenient to downtown as the hotels on Powell, just 2 1/2 blocks from the Marriott or Sir Francis Drake, at about 1/2 the price for a room that comfortably sleeps 4 with a small kitchenette. The room was nicely appointed and up to date. It is technically in Nob Hill, but it is two blocks north of the Tenderloin. The neighborhood is extremely safe, however, if you go even one block south to Post and west towards Van Ness you will run into some ladies/men of the evening after the sun goes down. I would recommend it for both business and families.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StealAway71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello Stealaway71,

We want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Canterbury. You offer some great tips to our future guests. Thank you for that!

We also want to thank you for the nice comments on the Front Desk staff. We were happy to read that they were of help in offering you information.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future. If you have any questions upon your next arrival, please feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed a week in the 2 bedroom presidential suite. It was a corner room with unbelievable views of the City. Many luxuries including appliances, sheets, artwork. The staff here is the best we have experienced in a long time. They do everything possible to make sure you love your stay. We were in the heart of the City. A car is not necessary, although we did have one. They valet park with unlimited in and out for a fee of about $33/day. You can walk to many attractions/dining options. Public transportation/cabs are available. This was a fabulous resort.

Room Tip: Go for the presidential if possible or a high floor for views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AventuraVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hi Aventuravisitor,

Thank you for the very kind words on your stay here at the Canterbury. We love to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us! I will be sure to pass on your praise to the staff. We work hard to provide a COUNT ON ME! service and it looks like we succeeded at that for your stay!

As you pointed out, there is really no need for a car when touring the city. Transporation is convenient to get you to where you want to go.

We hope to see you again in the future. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Have a great summer!

Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a first class timeshare. We had a one bedroom with a queen bed. The living room area is spacious and comfortable. The kitchenette is more than adequate. The bathroom and shower are very nice. There isn't really a view, but that seems to be pretty much standard for all hotels in the area. There are some great restaurants within a short walking distance. The biggest downside is the parking fee. It's $31 plus tax per day. We attended the dreaded presentation and got a voucher to pay for the parking. I have to agree with ANH779 about the aggressive sales people. We had attended a similar presentation the week before at the Wyndham Harbor Lights in San Diego and made it clear to the Canterbury sales person that we were not interested in anything that would require us to spend money. That didn't stop her, though. We finally had to just get up and tell her we were leaving. But that's how the timeshare industry works. Doesn't bother us anymore. We love our timeshare and the ability it gives us to stay at places like this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satxgrillguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hi Satxgrillguy,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the rooms and the resort. I was sorry to hear the comment on the staff. I would be happy to speak with you about it if you would like to contact me. We want to provide a COUNT ON ME! service to our guests and would like to hear when this doesn't happen.

We hope that we will be seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco! Please feel free to contact me prior to your next visit if there is anything that we can assist with.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
(415)345-3202

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wyndham Canterbury is a time share resort in the heart of downtown San Francisco. This remodel of an old hotel is luxurious, comfortable and convenient. The staff at this resort is always ready to please and very accommodating. The location lends itself to walking to many downtown sights or the cable cars. Virtually anyplace in San Francisco is available by public transportation easily from the resort within one hour. The concierge will gladly book tours of the city or wine country. This is a really comfortable and convenient place to anchor a visit tot he "city by the bay".

Room Tip: Rooms on the east will get good city views, but a very bright morning sun.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Danny D!
Thank you for your kind review of the Canterbury. We always love hearing when our guests enjoy their stay! I will be sure to pass along your very nice comments on the staff, they love to hear them.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. Your comments are who make us who we are today! We hope that you will be coming out to visit us again soon!

Have a great summer!

Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was the only Disney Timeshare in the area, so we tried the Canterbury. I was surprised at the neighborhood upon arrival. I've never been to SF so didn't picture it except for the website. In reality it has shabby housing across the street...but thankfully not a bad area. I was actually nervous to leave the hotel as I'd never been to a city!!! Ends up we were in a great location! We could walk to the Powell Trolley in a few minutes as well as new and old Chinatown(s). We also could take a short walk to Market Street...so ends up it went pretty well. Definitely get the Muni pass right away if you are staying any length of time. It was a money saver for us.
The accomodations were very nice. I'd say a remodeled apartment complex. We were in the very front apartment next to the CANTERBURY sign and I did wish there was a shade on the window to keep the bright light out. You can hear the street sounds all night, but after hiking SF I was too tired to care. The people made the stay very nice. They could not have been more accomodating. Hoping in the future they add a hot tub to their weight room as there is no pool. They say they're adding a breakfast restaurant, which would be nice, although we had a small kitchen.
Pump the concierge for info about what to do in the area. DON'T miss Alcatraz and if a Diz fan DO go to the Disney Museum at the Presidio.
All in all it was a very good stay because of the staff A+, room A, location A+....BUT do not compare it to staying at Disney Resorts. If you expect that, you;ll be disappointed.
I really, really, really loved SF and recommend going!~!!!

Room Tip: I liked the front for the windows....ask for a blanket, at least, if you need LR sleeper couch as sleeping area. Perhaps they have a shade up by now.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wnyroute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Manager at Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hi Wnyroute66,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Canterbury. Overall, we were glad that you enjoyed the resort. Our proximity to Union Square is definitely convenient. I am glad that you took advantage of the Muni Pass. We have had several guests comment on how convenient it is during their stay.

I can also appreciate your comment regarding the shade on the window for the front. I will pass along that information to see if something we are able to accommodate. We are gearing up for our 6 year renovation next year and this is a good time to make those comments!

We thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Have a great summer!

Regards,

Matthew Jones
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews