We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week of vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
southwest
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“week of vacation”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Arrived 3 hrs. before check-in at 4pm and was pleasantly surprised that the room was ready! Valet quick and efficient with the luggage and the vehicle. Excellent location for all modes of transportation on the City Pass and visiting differents areas of the city. Staff was always super nice and very helpful. Our room was in the Presidential Suites and was wonderful. Very little noise except for the occasional siren from police cars at night. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay on our first visit to the city. Went to the "question & answer" breakfast that is obviously a sales meeting for Wyndham Vacations, but felt no pressure for the 2 hrs. We did get annoyed that we were offered 2 nights of valet parking for attending (value $70.) and 2 other couples were offered 2 City Pass booklets (value $140.), how does that equal to anything being fair?! That was our only issue with the stay, but we got over it and enjoyed the rest of our time!

Room Tip: There is no pool, but I nice (small) room with a pool table & foosball table. Workout room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    226
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
290
270
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just returned from our one week vacation in San Francisco and stayed at the Canterbury. Room was clean and accommodating. There is a small frig and a microwave in the room. It would have been nice to have a full kitchen as we prefer to prepare or own meals even when traveling. There is a Trader Joe's located 6 blocks away for groceries. We stayed on the 3rd floor so there was also laundry facility available at the end of our hall. The view from the room was the apartment building next door. The hotel is at a great location on Nob Hill. You can walk to Union Park and there is public transportation right outside the door. Parking in San Francisco is sparse and expensive so we did not rent a car. We used public transportation during our stay with ease. We recommend walking to the Walgreens (two blocks from the hotel) and purchasing a 7 day transportation pass for $28.00. If a wine country tour is what you are looking for, we highly recommend A Taste of San Francisco & Beyond. Negatives: The concierge will push and nag you to attend a breakfast to fill out a survey, so we recommend avoiding the concierge desk. They can't seem to take "no thank you" as an answer. Also, avoid dining at Alioto's at Fisherman's Wharf. Food was awful and we both got sick within 20 minute of eating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SedonaSue970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Canterbury while visiting San Francisco for the week. Clean stay, friendly staff, close-ish to the downtown area and easily accessible. Most things are up hill in San Fran so getting to the hotel at some points were going up hill. (again, hard to get around that in San Fran). You do have to sit through the timeshare talk-ugh, but a small price to pay to stay here. The concierge desk was great at directions & recommended good tours for us to book. San Fran is a super easy to get around using public transportation of all modes (bus, cable car, street car, BART train, etc). Only cautionary note, we rented a shuttle through them (a third party vendor) to pick us up from the hotel on the way there. Our flight was delayed in getting in and despite them telling us they tracked our flight, they failed to tell us they stop running after 10pm. So, we had to take a cab ($$$). No big deal, just told them they need to warn people of that. Shuttle from hotel to SFO on the return was super smooth, and reasonably priced in comparison to competition. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has everything (kitchenette, washer& dryer in some rooms)! There is also a fitness center, gave & TV room. They also offer free coffee & tea in the mornings! It's also located right in downtown SF. We have a timeshare with Wyndham. Everytime we stay here, the staff are always welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dafilpsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My niece and I spent 4 nights at the Canterbury. The staff made us feel important and safe. They were very helpful with ideas and directions. We were always welcomed back at the end of our day. The 1 bedroom unit was very homey. A small fridge, microwave, and dishwasher allowed us to eat a meal or two and not have to eat out. Bed was extremely comfortable. My niece slept on the pull-out couch and had no complaints.

I was never pushed into listening to a time share gig...

If you need to park a car, it was $31 per day with in and out prividges...this was very reasonable compared to other hotels/resorts.

The Canterbury is centrally located and has easy acces to the bus lines and cable cars. Lots of restaurants near by. Definately would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAH_RAHx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The stay was fantastic. The staff was extra courteous. The Hotel became the centerpiece of my stay in San Francisco. Wonderfully decorated and designed and beautifully displayed. The rooms are roomy and homely with all the modern amenities that one needs on a triop out of town. I most definately will stay at the Canterbury again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

these people treat you like they own you. The lady at front desk wont leave you alone about touring timeshare ..we finally said yes and the timeshare lady insulted us about our marriage and our money.she called the cop at hotel. I was embarrased for the ownwer who shared their unit with us.you will get no peace here until you agree to tour.dont do it.they will ruin your trip..made my wife cry and she doesn't cry easily...please stay away

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,582 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Property: Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Address: 750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Canterbury At San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing