We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern Chinese cuisine”
Review of Brandy Ho's Hunan Food - CLOSED

Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Price range: $12 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: The Castro
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern Chinese cuisine”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A few days ago we were invited for dinner with a big group of friends to this modern cuisine restaurant. I didn't know what to expect, but definitely I must say that the food was exquisite. Some of the plates are very tasty, i.e. prawns with caramelised walnuts was a major hit. Very good food, great place, highly recommended.

Seats towards the walls are very comfortable, the rest of the seating looked a bit too spartan and maybe not the most comfie though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Hunan food in San Francisco's Castro District”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the best Hunan food you can get in San Francisco's Castro District in a small, cozy place! Easy to get to from MUNI, and around the corner from the classic Castro Theater, the food and service at Brandy Ho's on 18th Street is world class. Plus, they've got a full bar. Yes, it's not as enjoyable as the original Brandy Ho's on Columbus and Kearney, but it's damn good nonetheless.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Step Down from the Original Location”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The original Brandy Ho's on the edge of Chinatown (on Kearney) was a real destination restaurant that attracted a loyal following that adored its mouth-searing spices. When BH opened this Castro location, I thought, "It can't miss! What a great place to go after a cocktail or two in the local bars." What happened?? For some reason, it just doesn't taste the same. The spices seem "toned down" and the food seems a bit tired. The owners need to take a hard look at what they're offering and see if they can revive what once was the gold standard of Hunanese cuisine in SF. I was a loyal customer of the original location (and loved the Broadway "palace" as well), but the Castro venue just doesn't seem to pack the punch of the others. It's not too late!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Upmarket and very tasty”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Since this place opened a couple of years ago, the buzz has been very good. The variety of dishes is wonderful, the portion size is always large-ish, and amazingly there are few left overs.
Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This location is open”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I like this place because they do a good job with the spices. In fact you can tell them how spicy you want the dish to be and the spices they use are unique (and unfortunately a secret!). It's also a great value. I like to go there for lunch with a group of co-workers. We always have a great time and it's nice that the bill is so reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandy Ho's Hunan Food also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing