We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket and very tasty”
Review of Brandy Ho's Hunan Food - CLOSED

Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Price range: $12 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: The Castro
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
686 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Upmarket and very tasty”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Since this place opened a couple of years ago, the buzz has been very good. The variety of dishes is wonderful, the portion size is always large-ish, and amazingly there are few left overs.
Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This location is open”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I like this place because they do a good job with the spices. In fact you can tell them how spicy you want the dish to be and the spices they use are unique (and unfortunately a secret!). It's also a great value. I like to go there for lunch with a group of co-workers. We always have a great time and it's nice that the bill is so reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“good average chinese fare”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

18th street castro location
with helpful if somewhat uninvolved staff, the meal is served quickly and is well prepared but lacks a bit of flavour. Textures are good.
Nice average chinese food in a somewhat unusual location for this in SF.
Only place open on chistmas : a big plus
very reasonable prices

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st time & excellent”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As title states, this was our first time at restaurant & we were more than pleased with quality of food, presentation, & flavor. Tried 3 different dishes (fish, chicken, pork) + 1 appetizer. All delicious. Hope to return again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MBV245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good but the Columbus Avenue location is better”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have been eating at Brandy Ho's for over 20 years, its a great place for Hunan style cooking. The Castro location is cleaner and more chic than the institution on Columbus on the edge of Chinatown/North Beach but I think the food is superior at the other location. The Castro location was good, the oyster appetizer in particular was excellent - big lumpy meaty oysters not small pathetic fried oysters you would find elsewhere. The hot & sour soup was generous bowl but it was a bit bland for my taste, I added some dried chilis to perk it up a bit. The three delicacy entree was good but also I think more flavorful at Columbus. This is probably one of best Chinese restaurants in the Castro, but San Francisco has so many more!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandy Ho's Hunan Food also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing