We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant & Castle - CLOSED

Elephant & Castle
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Neighborhood: Financial District
Irricana, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pub food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I shared a quick dinner here after a long day of shopping and sight seeing as it was directly across from our hotel. Staff were great, everything was clean and food was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank metta_bhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service at night, bad food in the morning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were staying at Club Headquarters (terrible experience) and decided to eat in the restaurant. We went there in the evening and after standing by the "please wait to be seated" sign for about 15 minutes without even being acknowledged we finally left. We returned for breakfast and while the service was good my omelet was raw and runny in the middle.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Solid value for the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a late meal here last night with excellent service. The stuffed Yorkshire pudding was tasty and a generous serving as was the French onion soup. We shared an (apple ?) berry crumble, with ice cream of course, and the berries dominated with positive effect that impressive finish.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“British Style Pub with Great Beer on Tap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We love this restaurant chain, we regularly eat at our Winnipeg E & C. The draft beer is great especially our favourite "Newcastle Brown Ale" which is actually on tap at this San Francisco location. The menu is generally "British" type meals but there are other items that should meet everyone's taste. The food is very good and served in large amounts. Although you cannot call there "Chips", Chips because they are actually French Fries. But again the food is wholesome and tasty, but my wife and I feel the "Ale" is just great. I also like to visit "British" style pubs and this chain definitely gives you that feeling of your "British Pub".
Well worth a visit for good food and great beer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
934 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“For a Pub, They Do Not Quite Get It”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have dined at Elephant & Castle three times now. While I love pubs, and dine at many throughout the UK, the E & C is not up to par, IMHO. Nothing, beyond the exterior and name is quite right. The food is average, and the beverage offerings are just not all that interesting.

In SF, there are many better "pubs," than E & C.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Hunt_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing