We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub”
Review of Elephant & Castle - CLOSED

Elephant & Castle
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Financial District
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

English style pub. Food was good, moderately priced and served quickly. I have eaten there serveral times and always have had a good experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WW2Historyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Across from Le Meridien”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Went here for dinner to avoid room service at Le Meridien across the street. Not terrible but certainly not great either. Nothing really shined. Had the onion soup and the Tuesday chicken special. Would recommend mainly for breakfast. Free Wifi from the adjacent Club Quarters hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Kanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big menu. Nice atmosphere for sports”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not a normal set up for a sports bar but they had a 5-6 big flat screens around the place. There was a 49ers game and Giant playoffs while I was in town. Good crowd, not too crazy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieNYC1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quick dinner...”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose to eat here because of the location across the street from Le Meridien where we were staying.

We both had chicken pie and it was okay...the chicken tasted a bit "left over" like they had used previously cooked chicken to make the pie but it wasn't horrible, but I've had better.

Not sure we would eat here again if we weren't staying across the street.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkelly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“convenient for a quick refreshment”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Happy hour was hopping and offered decent appetizer options along with a good selection of beers. Seemed like whatever we ordered though, the keg had just run out and we had to select something else.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing