We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Experience”

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington and The Embarcadero
Transit: Muni: To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market BART: To Embarcadero Station Ferry Service: Service to Marin County and Alameda at the Ferry Building. Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.
Description: Inspired on the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri-a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.
Livermore, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This restaurant pleases its guests with wonderful views of the bay. The ceviche is top notch and so are the pisco sours. Take caution with the pork sandwich. It was mostly a slab of fat. Other than that the remaining sea food and leche de tigre were superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    348
    81
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Great tapas at the bar during happy hour. Loved the ceviche and steak skewers. Very cheap compared with restaurant menu prices but less selection.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhotoLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing Special about this Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service was poor but the drinks and snacks were good. Expect to go get your own drinks at the bar. At least the bartender was super sexy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Israel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
“Pisco Sours and Ceviche!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was first introduced to La Mar by a Peruvian co-worker of mine. He started raving about a "Pisco Sour" which peaked my interest. Finally, one day he brought me to La Mar and I haven't been the same since. The Pisco Sours are deadly... they taste delicious and pack a punch. We went during Happy Hour and indulged in several of them. I thought I was feeling fine until it came time to hit the restroom and I had to gather myself a bit to not go horizontal. The food is great too. I especially enjoy the seafood ceviche. The service is great and the atmosphere is lively. The only thing is the bar is not that big so it can get crowded pretty quickly, especially after work, but it is worth the wait!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Recommend a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local. Having never eaten Peruvian food before we didn't know what to expect. The stir fry dish I had could have been from many cuisines. The food was tasty and the service was excellent. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. Interested to know the chefs were all from Mexico! Not much atmosphere but worth trying.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fundi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar Cebicheria Peruana also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to La Mar Cebicheria Peruana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing