We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh!”

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington and The Embarcadero
Transit: Muni: To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market BART: To Embarcadero Station Ferry Service: Service to Marin County and Alameda at the Ferry Building. Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.
Description: Inspired on the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri-a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
“Fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place! Though the happy hour is short-lived here it's well worth it so check it out if you are able. Cristal beer is my go-to but for a more traditional experience you may want to check out their list of Pisco.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ygalvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    348
    81
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely venue by the water, great if sun is shining. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious and original. This is a classy place although it feels huge and slightly overwhelming inside. We sat outside which was perfect for a sunny day. The crisps they bring with dips are a great touch to begin with.

Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBlueJules
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LA MAR always delivers The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

La Mar never disappoints, always will deliver its famous
excellent, tasty food!
We tried the causas
sampler that was intensely
rich with flavor, we also ate
the grilled octopus on skewers
which is always sooo tender!
Their lomo Saltado was great,
although, it's still a notch better
in LA (Mario's) in my opinion.
We came in without a reservation , and opted for the
bar so we were seated quickly.
Service was prompt and friendly
and our total experience was
excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annabellereseda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super ceviche, fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

A Peruvian friend recommended this place years ago and I have walked past it many times without noticing. You have to look for it as it doesn't face onto the street. Huge, with small outdoor seating. Great ceviche and creative pisco sours. We don't usual bother with desserts but here they are so tasty and beautiful. The portions are small but perfect for slowly savoring all the flavors and ordering several to share.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebigcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“South American seafood delights by San Francisco Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A lively restaurant with views of the Bay Bridge and featuring the best of South American seafood. Lovely range of tastes & flavors, informed and attentive staff, and California relaxed atmosphere on weekends great for families.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastBayAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar Cebicheria Peruana also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to La Mar Cebicheria Peruana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing