We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Excellent food and location”

La Mar Cebicheria Peruana
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mar Cebicheria Peruana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington and The Embarcadero
Transit: Muni: To Embarcadero & Washington or Steuart & Market BART: To Embarcadero Station Ferry Service: Service to Marin County and Alameda at the Ferry Building. Public Water Taxi Service: There is a public pier behind the restaurant, for small boats to park free for a maximum of 3 hours.
Description: Inspired on the thousands of cebicherias found throughout Peru, La Mar Cebicheri-a Peruana, was created as an attempt to globalize and enshrine one of the best guarded treasures of Peruvian cuisine: cebiche, Peruvian seafood and the scenery created to enjoy them, the Peruvian style cebicheria.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow! Excellent food and location”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I don't know where to start... The food is just excellent. Very, very fresh. Very nice location, just by the bay. If you want to you can sit outdoors. The only downside is that there are only two toilets(!). Very strange for such a popular place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    357
    88
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Novel food - great experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Walked in with three colleagues - staff were attentive and really personable, treating you like a person not just a potential tip. Food was really good and just different. We mixed and shared, tapas style and every dish was full of flavour, well cooked and exceedingly well presented. Even the Peruvian beer was different and really hoppy. It is slighly more expensive than others nearby but there was nothing about this place that wasn't really good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skoyen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cebiche, near SF downtown”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Having gone to Lima's and NYC's version of La Mar, and already missing some good cebiche (I'm Peruvian, so I know about this), I thought of trying the one in Embarcadero. Went to the restaurant with somebody else, on business.
The cebiche was very good, taking into account how far from Peru you are. It was hot enough, but not over the top, as you'd expect. The fish was cooked, but you still could smell the sea on it.
The Piscosours were also very good, although I prefer them a bit more icy.
We also had some lomo saltado, which tasted well.
The service was slow, though, and took us quite a bit to get things moving.
It is among the best Peruvian places outside Peru itself.
We would love to have a La Mar in Boston, MA.

Helpful?
Thank Sandro1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hot”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Cool location, excellent service, unique food and amazing atmosphere = It's a food experience you should try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Red_Itay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Allow yourself to be surprised”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Try the mix of chenices and the mix of empanadas and share it to get an allround idea and take a guess on the main course selection that offers enough variety.
I was told by friends that the peruvian cuisine is a treat. I have not been disappointed.
If you are like me new to this cuisine I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesiLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar Cebicheria Peruana also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to La Mar Cebicheria Peruana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing