We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel I have ever seen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #27 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best hotel I have ever seen”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Our suite was incredible. I used to work for an online hotel agency and have been to loads of very nice places, but nothing like this. Everything from was 5*+, and even so, the service stands out. They could not do enough for us. Our house is being renovated and we've been living in a building site for two months. We spent the last three nights of our two week trip to California here, and we spent most of our nights in, enjoying the livingroom and the DVDs they brought us, with cold beer from the fridge. (Jesus it was a shock coming back home to all the dust and mess in our house) An excellent way to end our trip.

The room rate was proportionally expensive to the service, but we booked months in advance and got a stay 3 pay 2 deal on their website. That made the final price not that much more than our B&B in Napa, hence the 5* value rating above.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franc0phile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    97
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
365
161
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

So many wonderful things to say about this hotel and the experience we had there. We booked a one bedroom suite and when we checked in were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment. Amazing staff (this includes everyone reception, concierge, housekeeping etc etc), beautiful and clean apartments, fantastic facilities, brilliant location and easily the best hotel we stayed out in the US out of the 8 hotels we booked throughout our holiday. We were traveling with our 8 year old and 1 year old and the fact that the rooms had a front loader, dryer, microwave and two separate bedrooms within the apartment was absolutely priceless to us. Another amazing facility was the concierge car - instead of hailing a taxi the complimentary concierge car and drive would drive you to or from your destination (the rule was it had to be within 5km from the hotel I think). We used this day and night and found it so handy. The only complaint I would have (and because of how wonderful this hotel was it as easily ignored) was that our bedrooms faced the road and the windows were not sound proofed at all as the night traffic noise was really really loud. Although this hotel is on the pricier side of things it was absolutely brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTGLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

stayed here twce n september and both sutes were excellent - one wth a vew of the bay and the othe wth a balcony just above the square - the rooms have everyythng you could need - it's more lke a well equped flat than a hotel. The complimentary breakfasr s fne and the 4-6pm wne and cheese is very nice. ideally placed for all the tourist stuff which is what we wanted but far enough away from the more crass stuff. All in all pretty perfect. The complimentary car was also useful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here as our first port of call on our west coast adventure! It was brilliant! We had a 2 bed suite and it accomodated ua perfectly! We stayed here with our two little ones and the jet lag was a killer. Thankfully we had a fully functioning kitchen, so at 4/5am I could make breakfast and coffee. Dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, were all used!! It was lovely place ESP with two little ones & Ghiradelli chocolate shop on your doorstep isn't bad at all. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinazTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We travel to a different location every year as a family group. This had to be one of the most memorable . The staff at the hotel have manners extrordinaire. There is nothing that you ask for that is out of the question. The hotel itself turned out to be exactly as the pictures showed on the website, spectacular! We had a three bedroom residence on the third floor that was modern, spacious, comfortable and immaculate. There was a complimentary Continental Breakfast every morning and wine and cheese in the afternoon that we were unaware of and a VERY pleasant surprise. The beds were turned down every evening with a Ghiradelli chocolate and a weather forcast for the next day on your pillow and a bottle of water at your bedside. The location is perfect. A close walk to Fishermans Wharf and not right in the middle of all the hectic traffic. As one of the other reviews stated this hotel ruins it for all the rest. All seven of our group would absolutley stay here again and highly recomend it to anyone wishing for a wonderful experience in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at this property. The location is perfect, the service is impeccable and the stay is worth every penny.

First, the location. You're in Ghirardelli Square, so you have great shopping and food right outside your front door. Not to mention the greatest hot cocoa I've ever had at the Ghirardelli Cafe. Outside of that, you're just a minute or two walk from the cable car turnaround, which can take you to Chinatown, Lombard Street, Nob Hill and Union Square. Fisherman's Wharf is also just a few blocks to the east, so there's plenty to do there as well.

Next, the service. All of the staff were extemely helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions, stuff to do, etc. They all make you feel valued to be a guest. The courtesy car is a great feature of the hotel. We often wandered around town and then called for the car to pick us up when we wanted to come "home."

And, oh, the amenities. The Business Center was top notch and very private for me to get some work done. The evening wine and cheese tastings were a lot of fun, and gave us the opportunity to mingle with other guests. The complimentary breakfast was better than expected (bagels, pastries, yogurt, granola, etc.) and perfect for taking back to your room for a sit down breakfast. The terraces were my favorite, though. There were two - one small one off the lounge and a large one overlooking the bay off the second floor. Both had large natural gas firepits that were the perfect complement to the cool Bay evenings. I could have spent my entire vacation reading and watching the Bay from atop Ghirardelli Square!

And let's not forget the rooms. Our room was immaculate, and provided everything we needed: dishwasher, stove cooktop, washer/dryer, silverware and plates - it was like having our own apartment on the waterfront!

Bottom line - I hope this place doesn't sell out before I can return to San Francisco. We loved every moment of our stay and would encourage everyone to give it a try. It's so worth it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We pulled up in the taxi from the airport in late August and a very friendly doorman approached, opened the car doors and said a hearty welcome. We entered the sedate-looking brick building and the lobby was incredibly calm and sparing...hmm, I thought. Then a couple of well-mannered, friendly Fairmont staffers immediately greeted us and gave us the lowdown about the one-bedroom cityview unit I'd booked at a comparatively low price several months earlier (less than $350) for me and my two teenagers in tow...and then staff proceeded to tell me we'd been upgraded at no cost to a two-bedroom cityview unit! Yo! Well, OK! We were pleased, without question!

The building is more like a condominium property than a hotel, so it's rather quiet and there aren't tons of folks hanging around. I liked that. And then the unit itself, well, it was gorgeous. The full kitchen gleamed, with a center isle and sufficient pots and pans, silverware, dishes, a medium-sized drawer-type refrigerator, an icemaker and a small dishwasher (I rarely used any of this stuff except for tea-making!), The living room was genuinely spacious and comfortable with a lovely couch and a few chairs and a big ol' flat screen TV atop a gas fireplace. The bedrooms were also quite spacious and each had its own large TV and bathroom - one, even, with a jet-stream-type tub...VERY nice! I like firm mattresses and these were a tad bit less than firm, but my teens thought the beds heavenly, so I'm sure you will, too!

We also loved the continental breakfast...boiled eggs, pastries, toast, fresh fruits, orange juice, milk were the major offerings and, of course, coffee and tea. The late afternoon 4pm-5pm refreshment bar of red/white wines and sodas and cheeses/crackers was also a nice touch. Again, it seemed like there were never many folks around, although we knew there were...they just - like us - stayed largely in their own units and enjoyed the amenities there! However, note that the property also has a great deck facing the San Francisco waters and this deck has lovely firepits in the evening that blaze seemingly all night, with plenty of outdoor furniture on which to lounge about...

One of the best features of the Fairmont is that it's intimately connected to the Ghirardelli Square shopping square...a small, high-end place with lots of fun little shops and wine-tasting places and some good restaurants. This square was extremely close to the water and within immediate walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf.

What's not to like???!!! We loved it and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Fairmont town car came in very handy when my teens decided to catch a night movie in the city. The staff's attention to ensuring their safe arrival and pick-up was much appreciated by me.

The only downside of note, and there was only one and I feel like I should mention it to be genuine, was that the city view wasn't exactly a skyline-type view...it was of smaller-type rowhouses immediately across the street. Now we were on the second floor, so keep that in mind. It wasn't a Ghirardelli Square high-end-type view, but it wasn't bad, either. And the windows have some super nice curtains including pulldowns that let light in but keep outsider viewers out. I easily found ways to arrange these to my absolute satisfaction.

So book yourself in this place, without hesitation! Would we return...you bet we would!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,055 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing