We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
638
115
24
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
115
24
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house car full kitchen washer dryer fire pit two bedroom apartment ghirardelli chocolate factory fisherman's wharf car service bay view gary danko wine and cheese living area continental breakfast sf bay family vacation stayed longer the golden gate bridge
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 800 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Excellent property for family gathering. Great location and amenities for anyone traveling with kids. Breakfast provided and lots of great restaurants nearby. Friendly and accommodating staff. Will definitely be back again

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
1  Thank Carlos5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Dear Carlos5708,
Thank you so much for selecting Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square as the place to enjoy your "Christmas Family Vacation" and I was so happy to read you found it an excellent choice for this family gathering. Also, thank you so much for mentioning the "Friendly and accommodating staff" as that certainly means a great deal to myself and the entire team, along with the fact that you highlighted that you and your family will "definitely be back".
On behalf of the entire team we certainly wish you and your family a wonderful 2018 and thank you once again for selecting our property for such a memorable vacation.
Yours sincerely,
Edward j. Roe
General Manager
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

We had our family Christmas there this year and it was really nice. The residence was spacious with a nice fireplace and Christmas tree. Felt like home. Steps away from the historic pier and fisherman’s warf. We really enjoyed our stay. The people were very nice and welcoming.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Cristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Dear Christine K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your "Fairmont Ghirardelli Cozy Chocolaty Christmas Experience" with us on Tripadvsior. On behalf of the entire team, it's so rewarding to know you and your family had such a great time over Christmas while staying with us, and thank you so much for highlighting "The people were very nice and welcoming." and that you all enjoyed your Residence with the Fireplace and Christmas Tree.
I certainly do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back sometime in 2018 and that you are having a wonderful start to the New Year.
Yours sincerely and thank you so much for selecting our property for such a special family holiday.
Edward J. Roe
General Manager
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

The staff were all extremely professional, accommodating and friendly - whether we were dealing with the front desk, the valets, night desks, maintenance housekeepers or concierge desk. The accommodation was "home-like" and spacious (we had a 2 bedroom duplex). The small touches were well appreciated (water & chocolates each night, being able to text requests the prior night for timing on car retrieval and housekeeping, continental breakfast spread every morning, the wine & cheese hour every evening etc.). The kitchenette was well-equipped (microwave, kettle, coffee maker, gas stove, oven, fridge/freezer (small) and we even had a large dining table attached to a mini kitchen island. Finally, the A/C & Heating system worked superbly. The only issues we had were 1) it took a very long time for hot water to come through the sink faucets throughout the suite, and 2) no room service. However, any food delivery service was able to deliver to the suite (accompanied by a staff member if required). Overall, for a long term stay (we stayed for almost 2 months), this was a home away from home and even the most discerning guest would feel comfortable and happy. We would strongly recommend the Fairmont Heritage to all travelers to San Francisco - whether for a short term or long term stay. We are residents of SF and so we didn’t appreciate Ghirardelli Square as much, but for visitors this will be an added bonus. The most important takeaway for future guests is the quality of the staff. They really care and it manifests itself in all that they do.

Room tip: Water view rooms are on the Ghiradelli Square side which is noisier. The duplex is a great layout but the upstairs can be much warmer.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank almr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Dear Almr,
Thank you so much for making one of our Residences your "Home away from Home", and on behalf of the entire team we really enjoyed you and your family staying with us and looking after you. Also, thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful Tripadvisor review and for highlighting the "quality of the staff" as that certainly means a lot to all of us. When there is another need to enjoy a "Home away from Home" we do hope we will be able to welcome you and your family back to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square.
Here's wishing you and your family a wonderful New Year.
Yours sincerely,
Edward J. Roe
General Manager
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirradelli Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

My wife and took a brief vacation just before the Christmas holidays to visit, as she had never been - this was my 6th trip back to the area. After perusing all the 5 star properties in the city online, I chose this property primarily due to it's location . . . in the heart of San Francisco. Our two-bedroom suite was opulent and perfect; well appointed with high-end furnishings. The staff was amazing, friendly and helpful in so many ways. We were very pleased with everything!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank williamaI2096YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Dear williamaI2096YM,
Seasons Greetings and thank you so much for selecting Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirradelli Square as the place to stay for your brief pre-Christmas Vacation, and thank you so much too for taking the time to highlight in this Tripadvisor Review that the team were "amazing, friendly and helpful in so many ways." This recognition of team certainly goes a long way, therefore I will be sharing your experiences with them and thanking them for doing such a great job looking after you and your wife.
On behalf of the entire team, we certainly wish you a great New Year and we trust when your travels return you to San Francisco you will once again select our property as the place to stay.
Yours sincerely,
Edward J. Roe
General Manager
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017

I chose this hotel because it was near my daughters flat but it was great for the waterfront attractions, city centre and sea front park walks. the bed was so comfortable and the breakfast good. The staff were friendly and welcoming and overall this was a great stay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank ronacruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear ronacruickshank,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful Tripadvisor review regarding your recent stay with us in one of our Residences here at Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. In addition, thank you so much for highlighting "The staff were friendly and welcoming" as I will certainly be sharing these great experiences and observations with the team.
On behalf of the entire team here is wishing you a wonderful 2018 and we are definitely looking forward to be welcoming you back to our property when you once again visit San Francisco.
Yours sincerely,
Edward J. Roe
General Manager
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews