We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay...however.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #30 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
california
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“nice stay...however.”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This is my third stay at this property. I booked a 3 bedroom city view months ago. When we arrived, we were downgraded to a 2 bedroom unit. I needed a 3 bedroom for we had 6 people in our unit. I was very disappointed that the manager had overbooked the hotel and had not called prior to our arrival to discuss this situation. Our stay was nice, however we booked a 3 bedroom unit so no one would disturb anyone if they got up early. I think Fairmont could have handled this much better. We were sent a dozen cupcakes and a bottle of wine for the issue but I feel if you were staying at the Ritz Carlton, they would have handled this issue with a better comp.

I am returning in December but am now concerned this could happen again. No one likes to sleep on a pull out couch in the family room.

One final note....on our second night, we did not receive housekeeping. We were gone all day so there is no excuse for this.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kell113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    92
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
358
159
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

So I decided to take my whole family (Self, husband, daughter, mom and dad) on vacation. Kinda, I picked the hotel. So after talking with other travelers and reading reviews I thought Fairmont Ghiradelli Square would be the best fit for a variety of activities and people going. I WAS RIGHT!

First off, the hotel is gorgeous and the service is top notch! I received an email from their concierge, Jeremy, a week before I was due out with contact information and any needs or requests I may have. (Which were none, but just the same). When I arrived Jeremy was there to greet us and made us all feel right at home.

I booked a 2 bedroom city view which we were escorted to and given a run down of room and hotel amenities. The room was nicely appointed with spacious kitchen, dining and living area. There is one master bedroom with a king bed, separate shower and tub, robes and excellent linens (I let my parents have this room). The second bedroom also has a king bed with high thread count sheets. Shared bathroom has a walk in shower and large vanity. The room itself was great but there was quite a bit of street noise. The only downfall. (Opt for the bayview and you'll skip the traffic noise).

There are 2 patios, one with a great view, both with firepits which are nice on a cold SF night! I think I spent a little time out there every night with a glass of wine or cup of tea! The hotel also offers a small gym, which I did not use, I was really on vacation and a great lounge area. The lounge had a pool table, which we did use almost every day. They offer a wine and cheese happy hour too. There is a spa going in, but was under construction when I was there (too bad).

Lastly, location. You are AT Ghiradelli Square, literally, there is a back entrance that steps out to the square. You have a choice of many restaurants in your back yard. I highly recommend McCormick's & Kuletos, great seafood! Of course, chocolate and ice cream is steps away. Try a cupcake at Kara's too! Short walk from the hotel is the Cable Car turnaround, the bay and Maritime museum! Quick cab ride or bus ride anywhere!

All and all, Stay there! The cost was comparable to anywhere near by and you couldn't ask for a better location! The staff really made it for me! They were attentive and really made you feel at home! Hope that gives you a better idea.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VICTORIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Just finished 2 nights at the Ghirardelli, which was the most enjoyable 5 star experience I've had at any property Stateside. We had an incredible deal which meant we gave plenty of $$$ to the local wine store, chocolatier and restaurants. Not to mention the generous staff tips. Every cent was worth it.

We enjoyed a 2 bedroom City view room which was larger than our apartment at home (bring earplugs if you are on this side as the traffic noise from outside can get slightly annoying at 6am weekdays). The rooms are superbly outiftted, the beds as comfortable as our one at home, and as President's Club Members we of course enjoyed excellent free breakfasts, free wirless internet and all newspapers each day. We had a floor butler assigned too, but didn't end up using him/her.

And that Maserati towncar - nice!

The hotel staff are also uniformly welcoming, friendly and professional. Can't really fault the place.

If you can afford it, have a special occasion to celebrate, or can find a deal, don't hesitate for a minute to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candyflip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Had a 1 bedroom on the second floor (#214) with huge balcony overlooking Alcatraz and Ghirardelli Square. Noise from below was never an issue. Room was in perfect condition, spotless clean. Service by all staff was excellent. Breakfast was not huge but was all you really need to start the day. Afternoon wine and cheese was very good. Location is perfect for access to all attractions. The use of the house car was a nice touch. We will be back as soon as possible !!
Stay here, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestly-2-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Not much to add to the glowing reviews below. We loved the Fairmont Heritage! Beutiful 2 bedroom unit with views of the bay and Alcatraz. Took advantage of the two firepits, the pool table, the extensive movie collection and the Maserati! The car was always availalbe, very rarely did we have to wait. Had the continental breakfast each morning, which was lovely, with many different kinds of fresh fruit, pastries, bagels, cereals, and yogurts.

The pictures on the website are very representative of the hotel. Another plus (not for my waistline!) was the proximity to the Ghiradelli chocolate store. My teens went down every night and had a very large sundae and I frequently walked in for some free chocolate! There is also an absolutely delicious cupcake shop "Kara's Cupcakes", which is worth trying. We enjoyed the 360 Wine Celler which was in the square just steps away from our hotel. Great for purchasing wine, cheese, etc.

What is really exceptional here is the high level of service by all members of the staff. Extremely polite, pleasant, and very helpful. We loved our stay. Check out their website for special rates.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Location is excellent right on Ghirardelli Square with direct access through the hotel. We stayed in a two bedroom suite + living room + kitchen, very high standards throughout. Free internet and breakfast. Complimentary Maseratti Quatropporte to drive or pick you up to a 2 miles radius. Small, less than 100 apartments. Unbelievable value. I will not even bother writing further. Take my word for it, this is the place to stay in San Francisco.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thefoureyedpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We loved the location, service, breakfast, room, wine, and everything about the Fairmont. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We had a city room on the first floor and never had any problem with noise. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco. Also take advantage of the car it was nice!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phyholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing