We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best, if not THE best, SF properties on offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #31 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, VICTORIA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best, if not THE best, SF properties on offer”
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Just finished 2 nights at the Ghirardelli, which was the most enjoyable 5 star experience I've had at any property Stateside. We had an incredible deal which meant we gave plenty of $$$ to the local wine store, chocolatier and restaurants. Not to mention the generous staff tips. Every cent was worth it.

We enjoyed a 2 bedroom City view room which was larger than our apartment at home (bring earplugs if you are on this side as the traffic noise from outside can get slightly annoying at 6am weekdays). The rooms are superbly outiftted, the beds as comfortable as our one at home, and as President's Club Members we of course enjoyed excellent free breakfasts, free wirless internet and all newspapers each day. We had a floor butler assigned too, but didn't end up using him/her.

And that Maserati towncar - nice!

The hotel staff are also uniformly welcoming, friendly and professional. Can't really fault the place.

If you can afford it, have a special occasion to celebrate, or can find a deal, don't hesitate for a minute to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candyflip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    98
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
372
161
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Had a 1 bedroom on the second floor (#214) with huge balcony overlooking Alcatraz and Ghirardelli Square. Noise from below was never an issue. Room was in perfect condition, spotless clean. Service by all staff was excellent. Breakfast was not huge but was all you really need to start the day. Afternoon wine and cheese was very good. Location is perfect for access to all attractions. The use of the house car was a nice touch. We will be back as soon as possible !!
Stay here, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestly-2-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Not much to add to the glowing reviews below. We loved the Fairmont Heritage! Beutiful 2 bedroom unit with views of the bay and Alcatraz. Took advantage of the two firepits, the pool table, the extensive movie collection and the Maserati! The car was always availalbe, very rarely did we have to wait. Had the continental breakfast each morning, which was lovely, with many different kinds of fresh fruit, pastries, bagels, cereals, and yogurts.

The pictures on the website are very representative of the hotel. Another plus (not for my waistline!) was the proximity to the Ghiradelli chocolate store. My teens went down every night and had a very large sundae and I frequently walked in for some free chocolate! There is also an absolutely delicious cupcake shop "Kara's Cupcakes", which is worth trying. We enjoyed the 360 Wine Celler which was in the square just steps away from our hotel. Great for purchasing wine, cheese, etc.

What is really exceptional here is the high level of service by all members of the staff. Extremely polite, pleasant, and very helpful. We loved our stay. Check out their website for special rates.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Location is excellent right on Ghirardelli Square with direct access through the hotel. We stayed in a two bedroom suite + living room + kitchen, very high standards throughout. Free internet and breakfast. Complimentary Maseratti Quatropporte to drive or pick you up to a 2 miles radius. Small, less than 100 apartments. Unbelievable value. I will not even bother writing further. Take my word for it, this is the place to stay in San Francisco.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thefoureyedpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We loved the location, service, breakfast, room, wine, and everything about the Fairmont. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We had a city room on the first floor and never had any problem with noise. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco. Also take advantage of the car it was nice!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phyholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Hotel:

We were welcomed at the Fairmont Ghirardelli relatively late on a weeknight by the two concierge/check-in hosts who man the desks just inside the lobby. We got a quick tour of the property, which includes two terraces, one of which has a "fire pit" and daily wine/cocktail hours, as well as a lounge that serves a complimentary continental breakfast. The lobby is small but tastefully appointed, as are the common areas. The elevators are freight car size and quick and responsive.

The Room:

All of these "hotel rooms" were originally built as condominium units, and the size of each room is truly apartment like. Our one bedroom had a full chef's kitchen as you walk in, complete with Bosch dishwasher and Sub-Zero drawer fridge/freezer. A living area has a large exposed brick wall and large windows facing out onto SF Bay and Alcatraz. Flatscreen mounted TV with DirectTV and a surround sound system (there is probably $2000 of AV equipment built into the wall). The bedroom is a good size, with the same view and there is a large bathroom. The bathroom, however, was probably my only complaint about the room itself - there is a lot of wasted space that could have been used to create a larger shower or a sitting area, at least in my unit. More importantly, for one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in - this shower stunk. No door, so it was freezing when you weren't under the water - pressure was just so/so, as well. The beds were incredibly comfortable, as expected. Oh yeah, and a washer/dryer, which we used (they provide detergent and dryer sheets).

The Perks:
A concierge contacted me a few weeks in advance of our trip to see if I would need any help planning an itinerary. They were kind enough to book multiple lunch/dinner reservations as well as a guided wine tour through Napa. New York Times delivered to the door every day. House Car (Maserati) which will take you anywhere within 2 miles of the hotel if it is available, and it was every time we needed it. Chocolates on the pillow (Ghirardelli, natch) and they will do grocery shopping for you in advance of your arrival (if you want them to pick up a bottle of wine, etc.). 500 movie DVD library which we took advantage of on a night we stayed in.

Hotel Location:
Ghirardelli Square is very touristy, next to Fisherman's Wharf. It is not a happening part of town, and gets quiet early at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank souts23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

This is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in - and we've been to many 5+ star properties over the years! We originally booked for 1 wk and extended it for a 2nd week. The property is beautiful and so nicely appointed. The units have high ceilings, original brick- accented walls, lots of natural light, exquisite and beautifully-equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds and the most comfortable pillows and softest sheets you've ever slept on! There are several very nice and expansive decks with views of Alcatraz and the GG Bridge. There is a gas fireplace that is lit every afternoon - wonderful place to sip wine and visit or read. The staff couldn't be nicer or more professioinal. And, the complimentary house car will take you anywhere you want to go within several miles of the hotel. The location is really fun - Ghirardelli Square has been totally revamped over the last several years by its new owners. Good restaurants, classy shops, 2 excellent wine bars, and a very nice ambience throughout. And, the proximity to the Bay with very nice walking trails, Fisherman's Wharf with all of its excellent seafood, and the cable cars make the Fairmont Heritage Place a primo spot. It is also a close walk to Polk Street in Russian Hill where there are lots of good shops and restaurants. We'd recommend one restaurant in particular - "Street" on Polk. Intimate, fun restaurant with excellent, fresh CA cuisine, moderately priced. We had a wonderful time at Fairmont Heritage Place at Ghirardelli Square and can't wait to go back. And, they welcome small dogs - an added plus.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborahmucb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 229 in San Francisco
2,136 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing