We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #18 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is great! We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was fantastic, they are huge!, decorated amazingly the standard of the rooms and furnishings is incredible, like living in a millionaires mansion.

The staff are very friendly from, sitting down and checking in while eating the ghiradelli chocolates, to the 'butlers', drivers and turn down service staff. We requested a few things over the stay and staff were straight to the room with ice, coffee or whatever we required.

Breakfast was fantastic different foods everyday plus the same basics and essentials, cheese and wine seemed poor, I popped down about half way through to grab a couple of wines to take back to the room however the options were very limited.

Back to the rooms, and they are fully equipped with, ipad, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer etc etc etc. the best part being Bose speakers built into the ceiling throughout with individual controls for each room.

Would definetly return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
336
153
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We would go back to the Fairmont Ghiradelli Square in a flash if we were able to. Our apartment was incredibly spacious and clean, and comfortable. The staff were some of the most helpful that we came across on our US trip, and we particularly appreciated the complimentary car shuttle around the Bay area. The nearby restaurants were great and breakfast at the hotel was plentiful in quantity and number of choices. We had a city view room but as we were out most of the day this was not an issue. Next time, we'll try a bay view room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fairmont Heritage Place is a residence club which mean on site amenities are limited but in exchange you get spacious accommodations to have quiet time away from the kids or vice versa. But amenities are not necessary when you can walk/run/bike the 3 miles to Golden Gate Bridge or sit on the expansive private deck to watch the fireworks away from the crowds. These are front row seats for fireworks because the residence is steps from Aquatic Park. You can swim in the Aquatic Park along side the hardy SF natives. The sandy beach is a great spot for the kids to play and the adults to people watch.

Across from the residence in the plaza is McCormick and Kuletto's, they have incredible seafood and more great views. The bar is cozy and serves quick bites better than most hotel restaurants. Close by are many other great dining choices.

If you want to cook in the gourmet kitchen, Alito's, is the go to place for fresh Dungeness crab and is only a few blocks way. Go early, they only keep morning hours. You really do not need to cook or keep food on hand with the residence providing breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese.

The only real draw back is the many stairs like the rest of SF. If you have mobility issues be sure to ask where all the elevators are located. Transportation options abound from the free house car service to the trolley to the free/rental bike choices.

Room Tip: Each condo/suite unit is designed to provide different amenities. Let the staff know your preference...
See more room tips
Green Features: For owners, house keeping comes only every 3 days which is great for the environment and privacy. Daily maid service is upon request. Check with the hotel if you are renting.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue1966davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fairmont Ghiradelli Square Huge Rooms and Amazing Views! Stayed February 2011.

Extremely delightful staff, complimentary Cadillac Escalade hotel transportation around hotel, amazing views of the Bay and Alcatraz, huge 2-bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, fully equipped kitchen, living, apartment-sized stacked washer & dryer, complimentary can of coffee, all in the heart of Ghiradelli Square. We stayed during President's Day weekend and had the cable cars, shops and piers within walking distance. We did utilize the complimentary Escalade to a recommended nearby brunch cafe.

The location is ideal to the stated areas, the hotel staff rated 5 stars for customer service and our room was much larger than I expected. Complimentary continental breakfast is included for all guests. It's enough to get your energy before the daily tourist activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylye
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a place! Beautiful apartment, fantastic views, great location, helpful staff. We were upgraded from a city view suite to a bay view (thank you). The spacious suite was perfect for our family group, the beds were comfortable, the showers efficient. One small point was that, although there were plenty of bath towels, flannels and small hand towels, there were no towels of an appropriate size to use as a turban on my wet hair.

My daughter used the laundry facilities but the tumble drier kept stopping a couple of minutes into its cycle resulting in us having to carry wet clothes with us. This did not stop our enjoyment of this superb apart hotel. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. all-in-all a great find.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan191052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Second time we stayed here and although there were some changes to offerings from our stay in 2009 when hotel was brand new, it is still a wonderful home away from home when visiting San Francisco. The suites are really like condos with modern fully equipped kitchens. Ours was a two bedroom. Both with king beds. The one surprise was the second bedroom didn't have a bureau, so the person using that room had to live out of her suitcase for three nights. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast each morning and in the afternoon, wine and cheese. There is a courtesy car which we took advantage of. Staff is top notch and friendly. Location is great ... easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf or in the opposite direction to Fort Mason Park.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms over looking Ghirardelli Square in the back. These are much quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: All of San Francisco is environmentally friendly. This hotel had separate baskets for recycle and trash
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for the 3rd, maybe 4th time. A two night stay at the beginning of the trip and a 3 night stay at the end. We started with a 3 bedroom suite (by the elevator, so not the quietest). We love the comfort and location of the hotel. We ended our trip with a 2 bedroom on the 3rd floor REAR corner room (in case you're wondering what the 3R on the elevator means). I would normally give this hotel 5 stars but, due to a potentially alarming incident which brought the rating down in our minds is when our 12 year old son's friend (who was traveling with us) became separated from us on a biking trip through Golden Gate Park. We were disappointed the hotel refused to pick him up when he called for help. Bottom line: independent kid, rented bikes, he got separated from us, he returned bike to shop, called hotel who let him know he was out of the 2 mile radius, so he walked what he thought was 2 miles in whatever direction some stranger pointed him toward, asked a (very young) woman to call hotel, hotel STILL said he was out of the radius, so she was kind enough to call a cab, pay for cab, gave her # to him to confirm he got there safely. I'm not incredibly happy the hotel did not recognize a child was in need of help. We gave him our cell phone numbers, which he promptly lost, apparently, but he remembered the hotel name and location. Shame on the hotel for this incident, which I will never tell his mother about, at least until he is off and married. I would stay at the hotel again, though. The housekeepers, Frances the driver (when you can get him), and Teddy at the front door are all terrific.

Room Tip: We love the rooms with the R on the elevator (2R, 3R, 4R). They are on the back side of elevator, so...
See more room tips
Green Features: They save on chocolate by not putting it on your pillow at night? );
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reneraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,422 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#32 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,844 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing