We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #23 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was our second stay at this wonderful establishment, and we will definitely be back. A great place for family and friends especially during the holiday season as it wasn't as crowded. Everything was wonderful, clean, spacious (we had the 3 bedroom), and quiet. The staff was exceptional, they were friendly and helpful. Can't wait to come back next December..... Cheers!

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom slept 8 comfortably, even the sofa sleeper had a good mattress on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamZD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 708 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel apartment is sumptuous and fabulous. It had everything we needed, particularly the daily need of laundry facilities for our cycling wear. It is situated in a really pretty area and is close to plenty of good eateries.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilliando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Recently stayed in this apartment hotel. The whole experience of staying here was excellent.From cleanliness to friendliness, it was mostly faultless. I stayed in a very spacious two bedroom apartment. The bedrooms were roomy and the lounge, kitchenette area was also very spacious. my only small complaint about the accommodation was the fact that the baths and the secondary bathroom were on the small side. I have to say that this problem was more than compensated for by the fabulous views we were so lucky to have overlooking the bay area and Alcatraz. It was soooo tempting to attempt a swim over to 'The Rock'!!
The staff were very attentive and the hotel provided a huge SUV for free transport to anywhere within two miles. The hotel was also well located for the very touristy Fishermans Wharf, which was fun, and well located for catching the famous cable car for a ride downtown. Breakfasts were very good swell. Another tiny glitch was the lack of a bar, though there is a very good pub within five minutes walk which also provided excellent food. The apart hotel is also quite expensive but this was compensated for by the fabulous views and a bed that was the most comfortable I have slept on in years.

Room Tip: You're paying a small fortune to stay here so you might aswell break the bank completely and sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveroaming48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The residences at Ghirardelli Square have fantastic views of San Francisco Bay both from the units and from common areas. Particularly nice is the Mustard Terrace where you will find an expansive deck and outdoor fireplace. Our unit was a large one bedroom which was well furnished. The kitchen was fully functional. Situated west of Fisherman's Warf, the hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. This is not the place to stay if you are in a hurry as it will take you awhile to get to Union Square or the Bart.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Fairmont Heritage on our recent vacation. The hotel is a standout and the service is exemplary. The beds are like sleeping on clouds that are lined with the finest linen and the rooms are extremely generous in size. the bathrooms are gorgeous and the bath was huge. We had a 2 bedroom suite and everything we could have possibly wanted was there. Excellent location, excellent service and I can't wait to return. Complimentary driver and car within a 2 mile radius.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be good. we stayed on the street side and it was lovely and quiet. if it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just completed our fourth stay at the Fairmont Heritage Place Ghirardelli Square. The service was great, and some things have improved but the hotel is showing its age. The furnishings are tired and worn, and it's time for some updating. The showers did not get hot, and in fact barely warm enough. On our departure day my wife said she would wait until we reached my parents house to shower, rather than using the hotel shower (due to the temperature).
The breakfast was great and the staff were very accommodating.
We still love the location and room style and size, so we will be back….maybe.
For $1000 per night (2 bedroom bay view) the details do matter, so hopefully the hotel will pay attention to reviews like this and make some changes.
The hotel was ranked number 1 in SF for quite a long time, but I can see why it has slipped in the rankings on TA.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you will have to get lucky at check-in, or pay for the upgrade when booking on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sailsurfgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here in Nov 2013 and thought the concierge and front desk very accommodating. The were very quick to book tickets for Alcatraz, and they took us to and from restaurants in the complimentary car, often at very short notice.

The room was very nice (114), with a nice view out onto the Ghirardelli Square, and a side view of the ocean. Bed was super comfy.

The location was convenient for the piers and Alcatraz, plus it was close to the turnaround point for the trolley bus. (This is a fabulous trip to Union square for only $6).

My main problem was the lack of amenities - no gym, no pool, no spa, no bar to gather at night, no restaurants.

In addition, the water pressure in the shower was embarrassingly weak - come on, get this fixed as I expect a good pressure in a hotel of this caliber (and price). Nice shower cubicle though!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spartaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
1,649 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
522 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,220 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $608 - $1,726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing