We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location is great and the building is magnificent.
There are a lot of lovely shops and restaurants around the hotel.
Good points: the complimentary BMW bicycles and the outdoor terrace.

The room was really big and well decorated. Only two minor complaints:
- our room was dark;
- some of the furniture were damaged.

But the major complaint is that we found the hotel lacks atmosphere. Only a small reception area with no real bar (even if there are plenty of good options around). The breakfast room isn't lovely and the food was disappointing.
Maybe our expectations were too high or we simply didn't appreciate the aparthotel concept...
Next time we will stay somewhere else but go for it if you are a big family.

Stay october 2011

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view because the other rooms are really dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 721 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stumbled across this place while searching a suite for 2 families to stay in. Not easy to do in the middle of S.F. We were going to give up and stay at the Embassey Suites near the airport, until this gem turned up. The place consists of approx 50 suites that are mostly owned by fractional owners (1/10 of a year ownership). They do have some units that they make available for hotel rooms. These are all suites (1-3 bedrooms) with full kitchens. We were fortunate enough to get placed in the Clock Tower Suite (2 bedroom and 3 bath). We had a wonderful time. Just know that you will definitely pay the price for the level of service and amenities this place offers. Here is my detailed review.
Locations: As other people have mentioned, this is a perfect location for those wanting to experience S.F. Initially we thought it was close to the Square, when we pulled up, we realized that it WAS the Square. We pulled up to the curb and valeted our 2 vans (front door is easy to miss. Not a big sign but right at the corner. The stairs right outside our room led us directly into the Square. We were a short walk to eateries including the famous Ghiradelli cafe. We were a 5 min walk from the cable car starting point. And about a 15 min walk to Pier 39. We felt that we were in the center of the action.
Checkin: We were greeted right away and I went straight up and was checked in within 2-3 mins. The room was ready earlier than our 4pm checkin. The front desk lady immediately led us straight to the room.
Room: This room was fantastic. Apparently its a favorite of Clint Eastwood and is on sale currently. Its over 1600 sqft and has an upstairs den with the most amazing view of fisherman's wharf and the bay. The upstairs patio led to the rooftop. We could look down at the square and just people watch. The bathrooms were all perfectly appointed with nice bathroom amenities. There was music playing from the nice entertainment system. The kitchen had all of the pots, pans, cups, utensils, and appliances that you could dream of. Everything you need for an extended stay. There was also a platter full of Ghirardelli chocolate. I just wished the room had a bay view from the kitchen.
Service: I thought that for the most part, it was phenomenal. There were times when things were either forgotten (crib that was requested took 6 hrs to get there, in room dining menu took about 3-4 request to finally arrive, etc.) or delayed. However, as a whole, I thought everyone was really really helpful. For my stay, I had the concierge on speed dial. We used them to order a bottle of wine. We used them for dinner recommendations. And most of all, we used them to help coordinate the house car. This was one of the best amenities that this hotel has. I believe that there are 2 Escalade (6 pass max) that are there for use. We called for a pick up from Pier 39 and they arrived in 15 mins. We also requested a pick up from Union square and that took about 20-30mins. But remember, you pay for what you get. Ordering the bottle of wine cost $5 for delivery and then a fee of about $13 for "butler service". So instead of ordering food (and paying $25 delivery), we just ordered for pick up and I ran downstairs to get it myself. Valet parking is also $57 a night. Just beware.
Other Amenities: We really appreciate the complimentary internet and breakfast. The lounge is small but we were able to find tables without problems. Plus if you wanted to take the food back to the room, they will give you a platter to carry it. There was a decent selection of pastries and bread. There was fresh squeezed orange juice and hot croissants and breakfast burritos. We were there for only 1 night so the meal was sufficient, however, not sure if they change it up daily. Otherwise it could get boring. I don't believe there is a pool or work out facility. There was a really nice patio (w/fire and chairs) to just relax and enjoy S.F.
Complaints (not alot but here goes...)
- In our room, there was not a lot of info about the hotel. No in room dining guide, no explanation of the amenities. Maybe because this room was not one of their typical "hotel" rooms...thus I was lost most of the time
- No lobby bar. You have to go across to the Pub or McCormick's

The hotel was wonderful and "kid" friendly. No one gave us any awkward stares or problems. I believe if we could afford it, I would love to come back and spend more time here. You definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I stay every summer in fairmont heritage place for many reasons : it has the best location , best service and best rooms . I always travel with my kids and in room washer /dryer help me a lot . The concierge is very helpful as well . The rooms are spacious and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nonowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel by taxi from San Francisco airport $52 exc tip!

Quickly helped with all our luggage and went to check in.

Very friendly and helpful staff took us on a quick walk through of the hotel and then to our room.

We had booked a 2 bedroom suite and had made a request that the kids room was set up as a twin.
The suite itself was very impressive, but the kids room had a double bed that couldn't be changed.
We hadn't received any reply to our request about twin beds but we called reception and asked to change to a suite with a master bedroom an a kids twin - which the hotel DOESN'T HAVE!!!????

We eventually had to upgrade at $200 per night extra to a 3 bedroom suite.
Once we got there is was a great apartment and very well appointed - so it should be at the price!

There are no restaurants in the hotel.
A hot buffet breakfast is available and is decent enough although inadequate seating available and on the last day the only table we could get was filthy, obviously a child had dropped the majority of its bread and boiled egg all over the floor which hasn't been cleaned up.

If you want to eat in there are menus from all the restaurants from around the square in your room which the hotel will bring to your room. But be careful - you'll be charged at $25 delivery fee for what is less than a 2 minute walk!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just sat here after a five night stay
and have to mention how noisy it is just when you get back to the room to relax . Our apartment is a bay view one , great views. In the square below every evening a musician sets up and plays for up to 2 hours. It's either an electric violin/ drums or electric sax . It's nice for the first 10 minutes then drives you nuts. You can't relax ! Glad to be leaving tomorrow . Staff here are excellent , accommodation high standard but the surrounding area is a bit run down around fisherman's wharf. I've never seen so many homeless people. Two other things to mention if you have teenage children not many apartments have twin rooms . The only option is an air mattress, not great when the accommodation is so expensive and one of the kids has to sleep on the floor. Secondly if you rent from an owner check the small print , no housekeeping included!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Reddottyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent location, luxurious decor, large room... very good staying experience. It offers all your need, airport shuttle, babysitting/ child services, laundry, dry cleaning, a full equipped kitchen. What else you can expect?

The staff are friendly. They showed us around the hotel and the room in very friendly way. More importantly, the hotel is very room-feel. Unlike most of the other hotels, the decor, lighting, all the things together.... made us feel like staying in home. I could stay in this hotel for months~~

The only thing imperfect was the breakfast. They hotel didn't offer much choice. However, when considering this is not a big hotel, it is understandable and acceptable.

Overall, this is definitely one of the very best hotels I have ever stayed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laichunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for families with kids as there is a flat screen in every bedroom and the house cleaners leave little chocolates on the pillows!!

Also the hotel has the only room that I have stayed in that has a set of stairs

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
550 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,565 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#20 of 230 in San Francisco
1,687 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $606 - $1,515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing