We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #18 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Macau, China
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent location, luxurious decor, large room... very good staying experience. It offers all your need, airport shuttle, babysitting/ child services, laundry, dry cleaning, a full equipped kitchen. What else you can expect?

The staff are friendly. They showed us around the hotel and the room in very friendly way. More importantly, the hotel is very room-feel. Unlike most of the other hotels, the decor, lighting, all the things together.... made us feel like staying in home. I could stay in this hotel for months~~

The only thing imperfect was the breakfast. They hotel didn't offer much choice. However, when considering this is not a big hotel, it is understandable and acceptable.

Overall, this is definitely one of the very best hotels I have ever stayed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laichunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    87
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
330
151
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for families with kids as there is a flat screen in every bedroom and the house cleaners leave little chocolates on the pillows!!

Also the hotel has the only room that I have stayed in that has a set of stairs

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Few places in North America have impressed me as much as the Fairmont heritage
in San Francisco thanks to their management's investment in intellectual property. Getting the right people for the job is central to any apart d'hôtel. Think Citadines service apartments in London and amp their customer service hundred fold to get a taste for the kind of customer service you are in for at the Fairmont Ghiraderelli square apart d'hôtel. Whether it is the valet, bell hop or the concierge they are right up there with the folks at the Peninsula group of hotels: courteous, attentive without being overbearing and racially non discriminatory. We only had the opportunity of interacting with Jeromie who I can safely state is a star concierge. He helped out making our transportation arrangements besides recommending Gary Danko's fine dine place to us which is only like a hop skip and jump away from the property, and were we glad to take him up on it or what?!

The downsides are not that many. With all due respect, breakfast is a joke with
scant options available and limited seating so that the early bird gets the worm has a special ring to it staying at the Fairmont Heritage. They have efficient house keeping and maid service but it is a challenge to keep them coming knocking to your door for service as early as 8.30. Not ideal for visitors who like to have a lie-in when on holiday.We also found it impossible to
connect with the concierge services in the evening for the 4 nights we were staying

Other than that, this is a faultless property and it helps that it's conveniently located near Fisherman's wharf and within walking distance of another San Fran landmark: Lombard Street.
I think I am beginning to understand where Rudy Kipling was coming from.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are to die for. Am reasonably certain the city view rooms are guaranteed not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved our stay here. As a family of 6 it provided the perfect option for us....we had a 3 bedroom suite, with a large kitchen/dining/general area. The location is spot on...Ghirardelli Square provides you with a nice sanctuary from the noise and hussle of Fisherman's Wharf, which is only a few minutes walk away. The shops in the Square are good...a couple of OK restaurants (expensive, but easy), a wine shop (good to take a bottle back to the room!) and amazing sundaes at the Ghirardelli Market shop!

The staff at the hotel were great...the concierge desk was always helpful and had some good ideas for restaurants. The house car was a great service that we used several times. The car took all 6 of us, which was great. The drivers were all knowledgable and helpful.

It's worth noting that this is not a "full service" style hotel, as the rooms are privately owned and "rented" out to people staying there. The services offered are full concierge service, drivers in the house car, and room service using menus from various nearby restaurants. All services provided are very good though.

The Fairmont Heritage Place was perfect for us and made our stay in San Fran even more memorable! Loved it! If you have a family or large party, it's a must!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bay. Three bed room didn't have that, but it didn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Five of us stayed in a two bedroom suite, which worked perfectly, including the sofa bed for my youngest. The room - or apartment, more appropriately, was impeccable - very chic, clean, and well set up. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and professional. The outside terrace which overlooks Ghiradelli Square and the bay, was simply amazing. It is steps away from Fisherman's Wharf. You really couldn't ask for more - we hated to leave.

Room Tip: We had a street level city view room, but never really heard any noise from outside, so don't le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fantastic apartments. Wonderful staff. Town car service amazing. Nothing too much trouble. Took hotel bikes over the Golden Gate Bridge. Staff made sure we had helmets, backpack, water and maps. All recommendations were spot on. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaynesviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here in June with our family of five. We had a two-bedroom suite and appreciated the chance to keep food in the fridge for our young kids to eat as snacks. We were within walking distance of the Aquatic Park and our kids loved playing on the beach. Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Trolley, decent (somewhat pricey) places to eat. Staff was very attentive, we loved the firebowls and the pool table and board games, all worked well to keep our kids busy. Staff fixed DVD player quickly, fireplace in the living room was nice. Loved having our own balcony. The breakfast was not the best, but it wasn't terrible. Honestly, the staff was great and our kids loved the free chocolate every day. ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#51 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#58 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#32 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,785 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing