We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #31 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

There is nowhere else I will think of going the next time that I am here.. The whole experience was too good! The staff was very very good. The rooms were perfect. The house car compensates very well for the cost of the rooms. The location could not have been better and the concierge do a lot for you too..

Room Tip: The two bedroom one is the best! Nothing can beat that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank devanshshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    97
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
369
161
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

How is this place rated #1 on Trip Advisor for SanFran hotels??? The woman at the front desk couldn't have been any less friendly! The hallway and room smelled of stale urine. Our coffee maker broke on morning of checkout. And to top it off, they had ONE person on duty at 6AM on a Saturday morning who was left to run all over to get a replacement coffee pot, get our car, help with our luggage, and get us checked out! She was actually very friendly and did her best (completely opposite from the smug woman that checked us in) but if I'm paying that much for a hotel, I expect much better customer service. They really can't afford to add one more staff member on off hours????????

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Let's start with the good.

The people are first rate, they will go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience.
The rooms are appointed with first rate everything.

The not so good.

First, know what you are getting into. This is a resident type hotel that you can buy ownership in. The 'hotel' does not have a restaurant or bar. Room service is slowwww.

The rooms are done in dark tones with a modern look. Too cold for me.

Our bath room was outfitted for handicap use. Normally that is not a problem, but in the case of this room, extended to its full height, I could not fit under the shower. Outside of the handicap assist rails, there was no place to hang wet towels and wash cloths. The entrance to the shower was a cheap plastic curtain held up by a spring rod.

On to things the hotel can not control. We had not been in Ghirardelli Square for over ten years. The area has gone downhill will with many stored empty. Be ready for aggressive panhandling.

The bottom line, is it worth $1,000 a day?...............no

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has modern amenities despite historical undertones. Great location and excellent service. Only complaint is that the kitchen closed too early. Room was. Spacious and very clean. Good location in the city near the cable car. Parking is outrageously expensive (as are most hotels in San Fran).

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ryanmahaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Reviewers have pointed out that this is a great place to stay with children. My husband and I found our two bedroom suite was excellent for sharing with adult friends. Each bedroom, with its own large bathroom, is off a wide hallway and provides excellent privacy. The large sitting/dining room was a perfect meeting place. Our suite opened onto the second floor terrace, with its fantastic view of the bay. The terrace is a lovely space to sit, or read or chat.

As this is a small hotel, it is understandable that the 'continental' breakfast is aimed at American guests. I think most people would be able to find something they liked and for me the fruit, yoghurt, toast, bagles and cream cheese were perfectly adequate.

We found that the staff provided amazing service. They really went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel's courtesy car is another asset and we used it on several occasions during our five day stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reconnoiterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Superb location, we had a 2 bed suite in the renovated Cocoa Mill. High quality furnishings and fully equipped, washer and dryer, excellent sound system and luxurious bathrooms. A lovely buffet breakfast was provided and a welcome glass of wine returning from a day's sightseeing was a lovely gesture. Suite was spotless, staff were friendly, overall an excellent base for a San Francisco holiday.

Room Tip: For us, a room overlooking the bay was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyMHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are spending time in San Fran with a family, there is no better place to stay. The location is perfect on the wharf, easy walking to everything. Rooms are spacious with full kitchen and laundry. Breakfast provided in the mornings. Bikes are available and easy to get to wonderful path that takes you to the Presidio. Staff incredibly helpful. As a family, I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpknw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,122 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing