We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #29 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sleek and comfortable”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fantastic apartment/hotel hybrid. Not like a regular hotels, in a good way. We had actual fancy martini and champagne glasses in the room. Great views, amazing customer service, central location, wine and cheese happy-hour. Can get a touch confusing trying to find your way back to your room, but I managed. Loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabond76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    92
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
358
159
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We chose the Fairmont Heritage Place for the first five days of our West Coast trip, and what a good choice it turned out to be. We booked a two bedroom city view apartment for two adults and two children (9, 11).

The location was easy to find from SFO - just take the 101 to Van Ness Street, follow it to the end and turn in to North Point Street. Ideal for jet-lagged tourists as it is pretty hard to get lost. Valet parking was quick and easy if expensive, but car parking is very expensive in this area generally so to be expected.

We were checked in quickly by the friendly front-desk team and had access to our apartment straight away despite arriving early. We were given room 217 which overlooks North Point Street; nothing particularly exciting to look at but no issues either, just a fairly typical San Francisco street view.

The real bonus was that our door was right next to the exit to the main terrace, so within a couple of seconds we could be sitting next to the outdoor fire pit with stunning views of the bay. Having Alcatraz, Angel Island and the Maritime Museum right outside your front door made this really special, not to mention the Americas Cup boats practising out on the water. It was also quite nice to be able to people watch with a glass of wine in hand, loads of tourists wandering around Ghirardelli Square.

The apartment was simply vast, starting with a lounge/sitting area and fireplace with space for the four of us. The other half of the open-plan living area consisted of a six person dining table and a full kitchen with cooker, dishwasher fridge, freezer, wine cooler and plenty of glasses, crockery and cooking equipment should you require it.

Along the hallway was a concealed washer and separate drier. The kids had their own twin-bedroom and bathroom (with shower) which was bigger than many four-star hotel rooms I have stayed in. The master bedroom had an oversized king bed and a bathroom with a large bath and separate shower/wet room. One end of this has a large glass window looking in to the bedroom (with a curtain).

Each room had its own large flat-screen TV with a direct TV box attached, in addition to the large TV and high-end audio-visual set-up in the main living area. The whole apartment has loads of storage space; more than enough for the four of us.

The décor is extremely well done; tasteful and modern, making the most of the industrial heritage of the building but still retaining a welcoming 'home away from home' feeling. Soundproofing was very good, no street noise to speak of (even when buses and trucks were passing outside), and noise bleed from above/below. We were only troubled by plumbing noise on one occasion - next door's bath being filled late in the evening (the position of the bath would have been almost directly behind the bed in the master bedroom). Overall though, it was the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in.

All the in-room amenities worked well and with no issues with a couple of minor exceptions. Reception of the free WIFi was patchy - I could only get a connection in the main bedroom. Given the substantial brick and concrete construction of the building, perhaps to be expected. Oddly enough the provided in-room iPad could not detect the WIFI at all even where other devices could.

The free breakfast buffet in the morning was great, with a wide selection of pastries, toast, cereals, fruit, breakfast burritos, juice, tea and coffee. Absolutely no need to head anywhere else to start the day.

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We used the free house car on several occasions and never had to wait more than a few minutes for it. Very handy for visits to the nearer tourist attractions (of which there are many) and they will even come and pick you up when you are done. For trips further afield you can take the cable car from just around the corner or the F-Line historic street cars from a few blocks away, and of course more conventional forms of public transport and taxis.

The Fisherman's Wharf area is a bit of a tourist trap, but there are lots of worthwhile attractions scattered amongst the endless T-shirt and souvenir shops. The Fairmont's location is ideal in this regard as it is a short walk to the busier parts of the wharf area, but slightly removed from it so giving the best of both worlds. The kids also liked being able to get Ghirardelli ice-cream to go from the store just downstairs; there are a couple of quick routes in the the square using your keycard once you work out your bearings.

Overall this the best start to a trip we have ever had, and whilst pricey, the Farimont certainly deserves the glowing praise it regularly receives and I would really like to return for another visit.

Room Tip: Room 217 has quick access to the terrace and the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amonynous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Fairmont for the lst 4 days of a 2 week driving vacation. The hotel is expensive, but we thought it would be worth the money to stay in a large apartment type setting for the end of the trip. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom loft suite which gave us even more space and a washer dryer! Several people have commented about being upgraded and I think the Fairmont policy of always giving guests the best room possible is a testament to the quality of service. So many hotels try to give you the worst room they have and only move you to a better location if you complain. Not so with the Fairmont.
We used the house car 4 times and always found the wait short and the drivers helpful. The view of Alcatraz is amazing. During our visit the terrace also provided a stunning view of the America's Cup races going on. I would highly recommend the hotel if you are travelling to San Francisco for future races.
We all found the breakfast buffet to be more than satisfactory and did not really miss room service although I wish there were a nicer food market nearby.
My only complaint would be the constant music in Ghiradelli Square. Live musician's play on weekends and evenings and they pipe in smooth jazz the rest of the day. None of the music is offensive or too loud, but it can get monotonous and slightly annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mustard Building do not have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SusanNYC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Right up there with the best we have stayed at (mind you pay for it though). Apartment was excellent and had everything we needed and stocked with all the kit you could wish for. Staff were great! Highly recommend the place - we had a two bedroom apartment on the ground floor with a huge balcony overlooking the courtyard. I would push for the next two floors up to try and get a view out onto the bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Level Contributor
217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed in June 2012, we used the house car twice, the 2 bedroom apartment was very nice and stylish, no body told us that they have bikes for guest use when we asked abou bikes to cross the Golden Bridge Gate, so we rented bikes for that trip.
The parking fee was so expensive $55 a day , we parked the car for 4 nights without using it once, since we were eager to use the cable car to go to and from Union square, and the F-line with historic buses from towns of USA and Europe. also we used the Yellow GO-Car once , which is a self-Guided tour in small yellow cars, went through Lombard street and Golden gate park in the Go-cart which was so much fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bahrainmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our family of 6 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for a week in June. The accommodations were top notch. A full kitchen, washer, dryer, flatscreens with great sound system, and a fantastic view of the bay!! The modern furnishings were quite appealing to us, as were the daily chocolates left in the room....

The complimentary house car was great for trips to the grocery store or other places within their 2 mile radius. The drivers were very pleasant young men, helpful and accommodating. We used the hotels's bikes to ride across the Golden Gate Bridge and explore a bit, a very nice time. Cable Car stop was close by.

Breakfast was ok. The food choices were fine, but the buffet was not restocked often enough to accommodate the late risers. The afternoon wine time really should be extended for another hour so that guests have a bit more time to enjoy....I'm thinking that something more like the lounge options at the Waldorf or Ritz Carlton properties would be appropriate for a property such as this.

As nice as the hotel is, the outdoor section of Ghirardelli Square is a bit depressing....lots of empty storefronts...just seems a bit run down....perhaps due to the current economic conditions.

Some of the family activities we enjoyed:
Dylan's Tours (full day including Muir Woods) Fantastic!!!!
Alcatraz
Yank Sing for dim sum twice....my mouth waters just thinking about it.
running and biking along the marina and over the Golden Gate Bridge.

All in all, a nice stay....

Room Tip: Get the bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fortwaynemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed at Ghirardelli Square twice over the past 18 months, but haven't written a review until now because quite frankly I had nothing to add to the comments from others. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with a terrace and bay views. Superb quality of furnishings, a kitchen better equipped than my own, supremely comfortable bed and bed linen. The only shortcoming was no bath, but really........that is being very picky indeed. I like this location because it is walkable from Fishermans Wharf but much quieter. The San Francisco bus system is excellent, and there is a stop right outside which takes you through Chinatown to the centre of the city - we only used the complimentary car service once, because we didn't need to. The staff couldn't be more charming and helpful - their restaurant recommendations were first rate, and they even managed to organise our (second) booking at Garry Danko at a day's notice. So..........in summary if there were six stars available they would be worth it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bay side would be much quieter than those fronting North Point Road,which has a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing