We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #30 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“AMAZING place to stay!”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We booked a 2 bed suite. Upon arrival valet took care of our car. We had a warm welcome. The staff are great. It's not a typical grand hotel entrance - more practical but the best is yet to come.
Checked into our suite - music was playing on the more than ample sound system. Huge living room, dining room and kitchen. 2 good sized bedrooms. Perfect for a long stay though we were only there for 3 nights.
Luxurious, clean and appointed to the highest of standards. You even get an iPad in the room!
Kitchen had everything you need. There is a washing machine and dryer - with all powders supplied.
The location in Ghiradelli Square was fantastic. Shops and restaurants all around yet very quiet. The most comfortable beds and the best sleep after a day out in San Fran.
They have BMW bicycles you can borrow free of charge. We had a great time cycling around safely round Fisherman's Wharf with the kids. They even supply helmets, rucksack and a bike lock and bottles of water - very thoughtful.
Breakfast is continental but it is easily enough to kick start the morning.
The kids were tired one afternoon so stayed in, ordered free DVD movies via the huge selection and when room service brought the DVD, they bring along a complimentary bag of microwave popcorn. Nice touch.
We would love to go back and stay longer. There is so much to do - Crooked Street is not far away. You can get the tram from nearby which is an experience. Really enjoyed our stay and though it was pricey it was completely worth it.
Very impressed with the way Fairmont dealt with our enquiry from beginning to end.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carbonlazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    98
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
372
161
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great location, impeccable service. Yummy breakfasts. Beautiful decor. Felt totally pampered.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We booked this location because we used to live in the neighborhood, and were we ever impressed with the changes! First off, we were met at the airport by the house driver, who was nice as could be while we wrestled with the paperwork of lost luggage! We arrived at a very discreet entrance and were whisked into a world of pampering. We were greeted by Jeremy, who informed us that he had upgraded us to a 2-bedroom suite (did our driver inform him of our frustrating little luggage experience?). Whatever, we were happy to be treated so nicely!
Our view wasn't much (the high-rise next door), but we took full advantage of the lovely terraces (shielded from the wind and heated, one with a fantastic view, the other just off the member lounge). The included breakfast (fresh-squeezed orange juice, Illy Coffees, fresh fruit, assorted breads and pastries, cereals and oatmeal, and a hot entree) certainly did the trick for us, and we kept meaning to join the complimentary wine reception, but ended up with so much wine from our excursion to the wine shop in Ghirardelli Square, that we just took it up to the terrace and enjoyed the view and the fire pit.
Our apartment was very nice, with a nicely equipped kitchen with a very clever dining arrangement, living room with fireplace, and two bedrooms and bathrooms. There was also a washer and dryer in the unit, as well as a laptop safe in the master bedroom closet. Bicycles were available for guests to use, as was the wonderful house car. We used the house car several times to ferry us to one restaurant or another.
The staff was impeccable. The housekeeping staff was everywhere, from polishing the rails outside to the twice-daily service. I'd single someone out, but it wouldn't be fair to do so because everyone was spot on.
This is a great place for couples, families, and groups of friends. The location is surprisingly quiet, and there is so much to do right outside your door.
My only suggestion would be for management to make the coffee/tea service available all the time. We noticed quite a few international guests and they can be on totally different timetables. The Fairmont Tea, by the way, was delicious!

Room Tip: The terrace rooms on the higher floors of the Cocoa Building have a great view with private balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pcsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

It is everything you expect from a 5 star hotel in nob hill. If you can stand the price tag for the room, great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were a three couples travelling en-route to New York. Our stay at the Fairmont was our first port of call and were delighted with our 3 bedroom, self/contained apartment. We had little time in San Francisco so location was paramount. We were lucky with the weather so exploring Fisherman's Wharf and nearby attractions, made our time even more memorable. Not only was The Fairmont Heritage full of charm and comfort it was supported by boutiques, cafes, exquisite restaurants to mention just a few. Thank you Trip Advisor for helping me make the decision to choose this Hotel for my group.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grange53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. We got upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit on the main floor and it was like staying in our very own apartment. The location is perfect for exploring Fishermans Wharf and Ghirardelli Square. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A few years ago we booked a three nite stay in the fairmont in San Francisco and it could not get any better for hospitality or accomodations. You have to be careful of the $ ...it is definately not a cheap date,although we were lucky enough to get a fantastic package for the price. We always come away from a get-away holiday with some lasting feelings and beleive me this was the top of the line.

Room Tip: I doubt very seriously if there is any uncomfortable rooms anywhere in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank backtee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,139 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing