We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Ranked #21 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our fourth stay at Fairmont Heritage Place and each experience is as good as the previous one. The location is great as there are plenty of dining options right on your doorstep which is handy when it's raining non stop like it was on our second day. It's also within walking distance to the cable cars and the main pier. We like to visit Union Street for the great shops and the town car service will happily take you there for free. The breakfast is abundant with plenty of fresh fruit which is often rare in other hotels. We had to stay somewhere else for the initial leg of our trip as we were only stopping over for one night on our way to the east coast and the Fairmont Heritage only takes 3 night bookings. We really missed not staying at the Fairmont Heritage and we were glad to sacrifice 3 nights on our final leg so we could stay here. If you're looking to experience the San Francisco bay area, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bay view room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NT1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    92
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
358
159
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We also stayed here in December 2010, and loved it so much we were back for Feb 2012.

The staff truly trip over themselves to ensure you have everything you need, want and are satisfied. We were more than satisfied! We stayed over the Presidents Day weekend, and unfortunately, the building we were in (The Chocolate Building) had a power outage, but they were able to get the power company to hook up a generator to power the building.

There is a grocery store not far from the hotel (probably a 15 minute walk, or a $5 cab ride back to the hotel) and we cooked in the suite each night. The appliances are top of the line (Wolf range). There is plenty of seating area around the dining table. There is a freezer, smallish drawer fridge, and a dishwasher in each suite.

The location can't be beat - and the shuttle car they offer will take you within a 2 mile radius, which is perfect to get where you need to go. The Hyde Street cable car end-of-the-line is across the street from the square, and Fisherman's Wharf is an easy stroll from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherylrector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Fairmont Heritage is the serviced apartment concept taken to the highest level. We were upgraded from a two bedroom to a three bedroom which was most pleasant. The apartment was vast and the quality of the fit-out was top notch. It had been exceptionally well maintained. The kitchen had every convenience one would have wanted. The breakfast was brilliant - it is safe to say it was the best "continental breakfast" we have ever had - pity there were not more tables and chairs at peak times though. Front desk staff were excellent and equal to any 5 star hotel.
As for location, if your are a tourist in San Francisco there is no better place - even to get to the main shopping areas such as Union Square it is so easy and such fun by cable car. But if I was here on business I would definitely stay downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timothy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our family had a wonderful weekend in SF at the Fairmont Heritage Place. We felt like we had our own city apartment with our 2 BR/ 2 BA suite. We did not have a great view as we opted for the city view, as it was quite a bit cheaper, but the room was great.plus right outside our door was the Mustard terrace with it's fire pits and panoramic view of the bay. I had called
ahead and requested a one king BR and two bed BR configuration, which they were able to give us. The front desk staff/concierges were very helpful.The living room also had a pull out couch, but it was nice for each of my teenagers to have their own bed. Another nice feature was a loaded IPad, with helpful travel, restaurant etc information.the kitchen was well fitted with all apliances and anything you might need down to a cocktail shaker. The continental breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh berries, yogurt, cottage cheese, bagels and other pastry items. My only minor complaint is that the walls are a bit thin and we could hear some door slamming and heavy footsteps and voices above us. All in all though, we had a wonderful
stay and look forward to when we can return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Loved this place. We chose it because of the reviews we saw here in Tripadvisor and were really happy to do so. The rooms are great as well as the location. The assistance from the concierge was always very good. The gym is very small, not very good really, but you can go jogging/walking/biking from the hotel to the base of the Golden State Bridge by a beautiful trail (ask for the map at the concierge). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ccs_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our extended family of 8, including 3 small children stayed here for 4 nights over the New Year holiday. We had a 3 bedroom apartment on the ground floor that overlooked the street. We would have preferred bay views but apparently all were booked out even though we made reservations more than 6 months in advance! I can understand why, this really is a wonderful hotel. Our apartment was huge, very comfortable beds, great bathrooms and a lovely lounge and kitchen area. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The included breakfast was beautiful. Visiting from Australia we were totally amazed at the huge baskets of fresh berries of all sorts that filled the breakfast table. A teeny tiny punnet of blackberries here costs around $8 yet there were bucketloads there for us to choose from each morning. There were also lots of pastries, breads, jams, cheese, and hard boiled eggs. We took a glass of wine and some cheeses from the late afternoon offerings up to the roof terrace and sat watching as the fog rolled in across the bay at sunset and thought how lucky we were to have chosen such a great hotel and to be sitting watching such a fantastic view. The only negative comment i can make is that the concierge booked us a private car to drive us to Muir Woods at a cost of $240 for 3 hours including tip and taxes. When checking out the charge wasn't on our account and when we asked why we were told it would be billed separately. Later we noticed a charge on our credit card of around $90 more than the quoted rate of $240, even though we did not use more time or go anywhere extra. We haven't followed it up yet as we just arrived home from a 6 week trip yesterday, but next time i would pay cash upfront for outside services as with a middle party involved in making the booking i doubt we will ever see a refund for the extra charge. Overall though, we loved this hotel, and it was the best of the many places we stayed on our trip. If we are ever back in San Francisco, we will definitely be booking the Fairmont. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DaleT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
219 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our family of 5 enjoyed our stay in a 2 bedroom apartment. The beds were extremely comfortable. We had 2 bathrooms, one with shower over the bath ,the other with separate deep bath. Towels and toiletries were of a very high standard. Plush robes were a nice touch. Kitchen very well equipped, even had martini glasses! I made good use of the washing machine and dryer. Kids loved the Ghiradelli chocolates at turndown and in lobby. Sofa bed seemed uncomfortable and fridge was very noisy, but my 10 yr old coped OK. Breakfast had a good range of items and pastries were fresh and delicious. We enjoyed having a glass of wine and cheese in the afternoon. Sunset views from outside terrace with fire pit were stunning. We borrowed DVDs , there were 800 to choose from! This was an expensive stay for us but worth it for the location and luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. Our room 112 had a balcony with tables and chairs and view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square

Property: Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Address: 900 North Point Street, Suite D100, San Francisco, CA 94109-1192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cornerstone of Ghirardelli Square, Ghirardelli’s illustrious chocolate factory, has been reinvented as Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square. Our San Francisco residences allow you to experience one of the city’s most precious jewels in a new and intimate way. Offering one, two, and three bedroom luxury residences in San Francisco, Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square affords you all the comforts of home with the world class service of Fairmont that today’s discerning travelers have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing