We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for Mitch!”

Incredible Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Small-Group Muir Woods, Wine and Beer Tour from San Francisco
Ranked #33 of 284 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Incredible Adventures is an outdoor travel company specializing in tours from San Francisco to Yosemite National Park, Muir Woods, California's Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, and whitewater rafting on the American River. We've been offering travelers a safe, eco-friendly, reliable way to connect with nature since 1993, and our professional guides are experts in the destinations we visit throughout the Western United States. We strive to provide personal, unique experiences for our small groups (16 max). We accomplish this by creating relaxed, flexible itineraries for our tours, and by going the extra mile - both literally and figuratively - to assure an authentic view of the lesser-traveled roads and sights of our beautiful California countryside. We believe strongly in maintaining the wild lands and National Parks of California (and all over the world), and know that tourism can be a strong factor in whether these magnificent areas continue to thrive for future generations to enjoy. In order to minimize the environmental impact of our business on the destinations we visit, we operate our vehicles on sustainable, petroleum-free biodiesel fuel made from local recycled cooking oil. Our fleet is made up of 13-20 passenger mini-coaches which all run on B100! From the mild to the wild, in a day or overnight, in a hotel or at a campsite, escape to the great outdoors with Incredible Adventures!
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ask for Mitch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were supposed to go on a tour of Muir Woods and Sonoma Valley. Unfortunately, our booking coincided with the first day of the government shutdown. However, instead of Muir Woods the tours combined Sonoma Valley and Napa Valley (the Sonoma Pinot Noirs are great!). The drive was great and our guide Mitch was informative, funny and engaging. The tour was a great balance of being a group and also allowing times to go off on our own (eg. lunch). There was no pushy sales pitch and it felt like a great day trip with 'friends'. Would highly recommend!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    153
    28
    22
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still awesome against all the odds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

So we had the 3 day Yosemite camping trip booked with Incredible Adventures which turned out to be over the government shutdown! Before I review the actual trip, the only negative thing I have to say about the whole thing is that I was the one had to contact the company to find out if the trip was still on etc and what we would be doing, it would have been better if they had emailed or phoned me first. However the information they gave me was perfect.

Onto the actual tour, as Yosemite was closed we had a slightly different itinerary. We were still allowed to drive through the park, just not to stop. We had Mike as our guide, and I have to say, I couldn't have asked for anyone better, he was funny and informative, plus he really knew his stuff, even answering the stranger questions.

On the first day, we visited calaveras state park where Mike arranged for a tour guide to take us on a 1.5 mile hike round the park. The guy was pretty funny and the hike was really fun, plus we got to learn a lot about the giant sequoias. Mike had never been to the park before, but he still got us there easily and was able to set the hike up.

Before this park we had stopped for supplies at a grocery store and picked up lunch while Mike got some supplies. After the park we made our way through Yosemite (without stopping) and got to our camp site. We pitched the tents then everyone got to know each other round the camp fire with a few drinks while we all helped Mike make fajitas for dinner. They were delicious!!

The next day Mike took us to Saddlebag Lake, somewhere he had been but never hiked at. We went for a 4mile hike, stopping for lunch half way round. The lake was so pretty with plenty of photo opportunities.

After this hike, we got to go to Mono Lake where it has some interesting calcium formations. We then started to head back to camp through Yosemite. We nearly ecountered a problem as the road was closing at 6pm and we would have had to take a 7hr detour back to camp. However thanks to mike we made it through, earning him a well deserved round of applause! Back at camp we had dinner in the bar next to the camp site. Yummy!!

Our third day didnt work out quite as planned as we were supposed to be either hiking or going to a lake for a swim. But thanks to an incoming storm, the rainmeant it was called off. Instead Mike took us to a lovely coffee shop in Groveland before arranging a wine tasting in Delicatos Winery. After this we headed back to San Francisco.

Meals wise we had dinner on the first night and breakfast and lunch on the 2nd and 3rd days included in the price. Breakfast was a make it yourself laid on by Mike with bagels, cereal, oatmeal, tea, coffee and fruit selection. Lunch was also make it yourself, Mike left out a selection of meats, cheeses etc and we made our own sandwiches with some fruit and Granola bars.

Oh and Mike also taught us how to make smores on the second night!

I honsestly wasnt sure what to expect when i heard e park was closes, but I'm glad it went ahead, and Mike was fantastic! He really made the trip worthwhile, making sure we had something to do, and even getting us great info on Yosemite as we drove through.

Plus we also saw a few deer, a bear and some racoons!

All in all i would throughly recommend this trip!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did the 1 day Muir Woods and Sonoma tour on our last day in San Francisco.
We were picked up from our hotel on time and only had two lovely Irish ladies on our tour plus our fantastic guide, Mike. We visited 3 wineries(one extra because of our small group).
We had plenty of time to explore Muir Woods, a very special place, lunch in Sonoma, and a stop at the Golden Gate Bridge for photo's on the way back.
We had a wonderful day and would highly recommend this tour.
Thanks Mike, your a legend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LanieG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
248 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“We loved the small tour group!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We took the one day tour to Muir Woods and Sonoma and had an excellent time. There were only 6 people on the tour, which was so nice. We were able to stop at the Golden Gate Bridge for a photo stop, and then had an hour and a half at Muir Woods to walk the trails.
Having such a small group at the wineries made our tastings very intimate and it was great not to pay any extra for the tastings. Definitely felt like we got our money's worth on this tour!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKjazzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good tour guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I'm not that used at guided tours.
This was definetely good.
Due to lack of time I could only take the one day tour to the Yosemite, but still I could learn many things about this area.
Our guide infact not only drove us there, but gave us lots of explenations while driving to the park.
This helped me to understand better the place I was going to visit.
I definetely recommend this tour. He also was relaxed and easy going, and let us have a walk in the park with him, rather than let us on our own as he could have done.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiaraiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Incredible Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Incredible Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing