We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, off the beaten path”
Review of Lands End

Lands End
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
4-hour Walking Tour of Lands End in San Francisco
More Info
$49.00*
and up
San Francisco Coastal Walking Tours
More Info
$39.00*
and up
San Francisco Parks and Coast – Summer of Love Edition
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the northwestern corner of San Francisco, there is a series of stunning views at every turn in this wild and windy trail. Hillsides of cypress and wildflowers, views of shipwrecks and access to the ruins of Sutro baths, a San Francisco specials memory.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, off the beaten path”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I've lived in San Francisco six years and was only vaguely aware of the Land's End Trail near the Presidio. My guy was visiting from Canada and we decided to check it out. Every turn along the path offers breathtaking views of the rocky coast and the beautiful cypress trees. There's a spot where you can see the Golden Gate Bridge from the seaward side and every turn is a great photo. The trail was apparently once an electric streetcar track that took people out to the Sutro Baths. We went on a weekday and it wasn't crowded at all. I will definitely go back.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,638
    413
    65
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent escape from San Francisco madness”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Excellent, well-maintained trail - easy to follow, easy to walk main trail with many optional off-shoots that can be anywhere from easy to strenuous - to downright dangerous if you ignore the signs - not recommended! Fantastic sights all along the trail - small wildlife, trees and flowers, and even some man-made. Lots of free public parking at the end of Point Lobos (Geary Blvd). Plaque at Point Lobos parking says the trail is 1.5 mi, but my GPS said 6.68 total walked, but that included several off-shoots.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank hdirad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Escape from the City”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

One of my favorite places in San Francisco. I live about a mile away and have walked this trail too many times to count. Each time I go, I am amazed by the beauty and the breathtaking views. I often feel like I'm on a mini vacation when I am there because it is so lush and green. One of the last times I went, I saw a school of dolphins in the ocean! The trail is fairly flat although there is one main stair case which could make it difficult for bikers or people who have a difficult time going up and down stairs. There are other staircases that are optional to take to a beach with tide pools or the Sutro Bath ruins. My 9 year old son loves to explore the ruins and the near-by cave. The parking is really easy for this trail, either near the Cliff House or in the Seacliff neighborhood.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mjuddrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great views, great trail”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I hiked from the Legion of honor on the Land's end trail to the coastal trail and the sutro bath ruins. It was a little hard to find - had to use my gps on my phone - but once on the trail it was impossible to get lost. Very peaceful and stunning views.

Helpful?
Thank KYMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite SF walk”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I am a San Francisco Native, and this little walk is my favorite stroll in the whole city. It's an easy, peaceful trail with spectacular views of the Golden Gate Bridge.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank SFOHKG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lands End also viewed

 

Been to Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing