We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
California Academy of Sciences
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience California Academy of Sciences
from $35.95
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (5,618)
Filter reviews
4,299 results
Traveler rating
2,773
986
371
94
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,773
986
371
94
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living roof albino alligator earthquake simulator rainforest exhibit an aquarium planetarium shows natural history tropical rainforest birds and butterflies golden gate park penguin feeding all ages earth quake science museum under one roof great for kids great museum
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,299 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Beautiful, unusual aquarium, an Imax Theatre, and the science center, cafe and gift shop on one ticket!

Thank GypsyKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

As you walk around the main floor of the California Academy of Sciences building, an unusual sight: a white alligator, imported from Florida.

2  Thank lenak63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Took our toddler during our holiday in San Francisco. A short line to get in - the museum was busy as it was veterans day - observed 11/12.

It was our second visit - we had been 7 years ago when last in San Francisco. We enjoyed walking around again.

Our Son particularly like the aquarium, I would say it was a little expensive to get in so 4 out of 5.

Thank phillipdownham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Great museum and educational center. Great for all ages.

Loved the rainforest and butterflies.
Aquarium is pretty cool. Living roof is a very unique feature.

Lots of other activities too. Planetarium. Clyde the white alligator. Penguins. A few other things we didn’t see.

We spent 3 hours there. Worth every minute.
Plan on 3-4 hours to get most things done.

There is a parking garage but access can be tough depending on time of day. Lots of street parking in Golden Gate park but limited to 4 hours.

We paid full price at $39 for our ticket. Likely there are combo passes and other discounted options—worth searching. I saw references to City Pass so I’m sure that would have been a good deal.

Lots of cool things in Golden Gate Park in addition to CAS including de Young museum, Japanese tea garden, conservatory and botanical gardens (also the buffalos and windmills).

Make time for a day in Golden Gate Park and all it offers.

Thank Bacinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Huge place, the aquarium and rainforest with butterflies are must see. Definitely a must of you have young kids who loves science, my 5yo love it!

Thank humminmummin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our biggest regret during our recent trip to San Fran was that we didn’t spend longer inside of this museum. It’s absolutely incredible. There are so many amazing exhibits and it truly is exciting for all ages. It was a cross between science and natural history which we just loved. Definitely make time for this if you can!

Thank samanthaa984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great afternoon here, I enjoyed the aquarium area the most but be sure to check out the rooftop garden

Thank Tia3462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you can, try to go NOT on the weekend. It's crazy busy. The line would be out the door. Buy your tickets ahead of time. It's a great museum but crazy crowded so just keep that in your expectations before you go!

1  Thank weltexplorer6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

As avid museum goers and locals of San Francisco, this was a unique experience that exceeded our expecrations. The evening included express entry to the Academy, a private reception with speciality cocktails, less than stellar light bites, an hour " behind the scenes" private tour that included special access to the gem & mineral vault with a personable and knowledgeable staff member. Also, access to the amazing domed living roof seen at night with the lights of the City around it. Then reserved planetarium seating with an introduction by a young astrophysicist with quite a sense of humor. The NASA produced visual experience takes you on a journey through our universe in an awe inspiring movie like all encompassing adventure narrated by Whoopi Goldberg. The entire evening was truly inspiring , well done by people who are psssionate about this unique, world class destination in Goldrn Gate Park.

Thank Artfuladventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is amazing and takes science museums to the next level. There's a rainforest area with the most beautiful butterflies, an amazing aquarium, a planetarium (with fabulous free shows,) an earthquake simulator, an albino alligator and that's just for starters. The building itself is spacious and light, it's a pleasure to navigate. Both the employees and volunteers are so kind, helpful and knowledgeable. Kudos to Bruce who taught us about shark eggs and gave me the low down on albino alligators! There is so much to see and do here, you'll need a full day to do it justice.

Thank pddownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews