We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse place to stay!”
Review of Sweden House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweden House Hotel
Ranked #54 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2010

So I thought it would be okay as it was relatively cheap and you get your own room. However a week later I found out that I had bed bug bites all over my arms! If I had the choice, I would have paid the same price to stay two blocks down at the Youth Hostel. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Clu5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is not a hotel at all. Most of the 'guests' are residents of one sort or another, the 'management' is only around during regular business hours.
I thought I was a hardened traveler, I've stayed in cheap hotels and hostels all over the world and this was the only one I actually couldn't sleep in. Also, the neighborhood is the worst in all of San Francisco - the infamous panhandle.
Just don't stay here. For any reason.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NYC_theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I'm student and I travel a lot. However I decided to save 20 dollars and stay in this dump... I lived there for a month and that was worst month in my life... My body itched all the time, while I've been there because of insects
I didn't have windows in my room as well as shelves for my clothes and hangers. All furniture is dirty. However if you go to their website they say it's "newly renovated"
You hear everything what's going on in passage. Bathroom door slammed so loudly and they don't care about it! Moreover here are no shelves in the bathroom too!
YOu can get much much better hotel for the same price in the heart of the city. There are several of them. (Spaulding, for instance)
Oh!! and wi fi doesnt' work!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank anttraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

The room I got was dirty - but I thought its ok for one night

That was 'till I pulled back the bedding - and saw all the stains on the sheets. Also holes in the bed from burns and a semen stain on the wall. I could just image the bed bugs waiting in that bed hole for me to go to sleep

I walked out - paid a little more for a different hotel and got a clean room with my own shower and a clean bed and didnt have to spend money disinfecting myself and my clothing. I considered contacting the heath authorities - this place should be closed down.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pbirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank dalec910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Mateo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ein anderes Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagobertduck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Layne Hotel
#202 of 230 in San Francisco
261 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#195 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#146 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,400 reviews
SoMa
Winsor Hotel
Winsor Hotel
#30 of 72 in San Francisco
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweden House Hotel

Address: 570 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1932
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $46 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sweden House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Sweden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing