We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grace Cathedral”
Review of Grace Cathedral

Grace Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
San Francisco Treasures Tour
More Info
$79.00*
and up
5-Hour Premium San Francisco City Tour
More Info
$27.00*
and up
Big Bus San Francisco Night Tour
Ranked #36 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grace Cathedral is home to a community where the best of Episcopal tradition courageously embraces innovation and open-minded conversation, where inclusion is expected and people of all faiths are welcomed, where beliefs are put into action and where people are encouraged to seek God and progress on their own spiritual journeys. The cathedral itself, a renowned San Francisco landmark, serves as a magnet, where diverse people gather to worship, celebrate, seek solace, converse and learn.Famed as a destination for visitors from all over the world, the cathedral is known for its striking architecture, stained glass, singular collection of art, and Interfaith AIDS Memorial Chapel.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grace Cathedral”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was one of the most serene and calming cathedrals I have ever visited. I went to a Sunday service at 8.30am It was tranquil, meaningful and uplifting. Its atmosphere was beautiful and I am glad that I made the effort to attend the service when I was in the city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank philippa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    351
    81
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a must see. It is an extremely beautiful cathedral and so peaceful. The Stained Glass is amazing .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigMess99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“they charge!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After visiting all manners of cathedrals in Europe (and here) I was surprised they charged a few to enter (well, a recommended donation). Hard to see the whole building from the street - need to back up quite a bit. Inside is very dark and hard to see. Still I am glad i stopped by, but the National Cathedral in DC is much better. We probably spent 30 minutes looking around then left - they are other things to see and do in San Fran - dont plan to spend a long time here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I liked it, but nothing amazing”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I wasn't able to go in just so you know that immediately right off the gate. I liked the outside and really enjoyed the park around it, but it is so close to a road, I felt as though you couldn't truly appreciate the church until you're able to look at it from the park which is there. I enjoyed it, but there wasn't amazing work on the outside of the church, but it was worth a visit and you will most likely be around this area anyway.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We were personally invited by the pastor to view his cathedral - and he didn't know us! Must see for the architecture and the stained glass windows.

Helpful?
Thank WildmanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Grace Cathedral also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Grace Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing