We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to land.”
Review of Bernalview B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bernalview B&B
Ranked #14 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently relocated to SF and stayed at Bernalview while I was getting my SF legs ready. It was a perfect fit for me and a very warm welcome to the city. The view from the guest room is incredible and the room is very comfortable. It's easy to get to the sights from there and Alan goes out of his way to make sure you get any help you need. The neighbourhood itself is one of the best spots I know in SF. It has the feel of a village and is very close to many different restaurants, cafes and parks. The Mission District and its murals are minutes away and the houses are as pretty and quirky as any in other parts of SF. Thank you Bernalview!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oztrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

In the lovely neighborhood of Bernal Heights, this was a perfect place to stay. Easy busy rides to the main attractions, yet at the end of the day it is a quiet neighborhood, with a great fruit and vegetable market just a couple of blocks away. Everything was great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Bernalview B&B is a small but comfortable condo right on the side of Bernal Hill. It's only a short walk away from a fantastic view of San Francisco, and from a ton of tasty and interesting places to eat on Mission Street.

Alan was a wonderful host, and was very helpful with information and assistance. The B&B itself is comfortable, though the room is a bit small. The bed was fine, but there was almost no shelf space and no place to put things. And that is my only complaint about the place.

Breakfast was a serve-yourself affair, from a fridge stocked with cheese, fruit, meat, cereal and other food. Most mornings, we chose to eat out in the backyard, which has a fantastic garden.

Be aware that the room is small and that there is only one shower in the house (though there was a bathroom that we had to ourselves). If those aren't a problem, this is a great and very affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I so much enjoyed relaxing in an oasis of calm while working in SF that I simply had to recommend this experience to other travelers. Alan and René's place had such a peaceful and cultured vibe - books, music, artwork. Their help in acquainting me with the neighborhood made me feel right at home. Don't miss sitting in their serene garden or walking up to the top of Bernal Hill just above the house!

Room Tip: There is only one room. The view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 20Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I had a delightful stay at this B & B. Alan and Rene are great hosts and very interesting people. The place is a fabulous value and in an excellent location, too. I felt very much at home during the week I was there. I would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianadelasarpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and i stayed here for 8 days at the beginning and end of a 3 month holiday touring the USA. We stayed in many B and B's, Hotels and Motels during this time and can honestly say that Bernalview was the best value accommodation overall. It is situated in a quiet street near the Mission area, close to many restaurants,and within a 15 minute walk from BART and bus lines. The house has wonderful views over the City and through to the Bay which are impressive by day but quite stunning at night. The hosts are charming, considerate and knowledgeable and the DIY breakfasts from a fridge packed with quality fare were always delicious.

Throughly reccomended for singles or a couple travelling on a budget. Book this place now because we intend to on our next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I visited San Francisco with my partner at the end of July and, in a city of expensive hotels, was lucky to find this great little affordable and cozy place in the Bernal Heights neighborhood. While it's not in the heart of the major tourist areas or the nightlife of SoMa or the Castro, you can take the number 67 bus or walk 15 minutes to the BART station at 24th & Mission which can connect you to pretty much anywhere you want to go. Late at night, we took a taxi home from the Castro and SoMa which never ran more then $10. The neighborhood itself is charming with a park and a couple of cafes along shady Folsom Street and the Mission neighborhood's colorful murals are very close by. The B&B is on top of a steep hill, and it can be a cruel hike upwards after a long day of walking and sightseeing, but I just looked at it as a great way to burn off the beer after a long night out in SoMa and all those Hot Cookie cookies I ate in the Castro! As for the B&B, the room has a fantastic view of the city skyline and a nice afternoon breeze comes through the window, perfect for a mid-day nap. There is a nicely landscaped patio in the back to hang out or to have breakfast -- look for the cute orange neighborhood cat that makes his way down from the hills above. So, if you don't mind having to make more of an effort to visit the sites in exchange for life in an affordable, friendly, and clean San Francisco home, then I highly recommend Bernal B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicknak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,728 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
332 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernalview B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernalview B&B

Address: 37 Stoneman St, Bernal Heights, San Francisco, CA 94110-5240
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high on Bernal Hill with a view of downtown and the Bay Bridge, this 1898 home features a bedroom with a view, breakfast in the garden on sunny mornings, a friendly dog and his owner. Easy street parking and accessible by multiple bus routes and BART a short walk away that can take you to the Castro, SOMA, Mission and downtown. Self-serve continental breakfast. Wi-fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing