We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,786)
Filter reviews
5,786 results
Traveler rating
3,157
2,178
385
48
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,157
2,178
385
48
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pillow menu cable car union square rubber duck great location free cookies ceiling fan bath salts rooms are small walk in closet powell st there is no air conditioning muni pass our honeymoon charming hotel an older hotel street noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 5,786 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quaint hotel with an ideal location - if your searching for 5 star resort accommodation, this won't be your choice. This hotel has old world charm - loved it! No air-conditioning and that was fine for the visit in September. Would return to this hotel on next trip to San Fran.

Room tip: Request a room with a quiet location
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chancellor Hotel looks old on the outside but they have updated their rooms (except for the bathroom. Could use an update but it was fine). The best thing is that it is centrally located right near union square. walking distance to all shops, restaurants and transit. The BART is just a few minutes walk away for easy transport to/from SFO. The hotel does not have air conditioning but it was fine for me. There is a ceiling fan and I kept my windows open all day and while I am sleeping. the streets are relatively quiet at night - it's not like nyc where people are out to the wee hours. The hotel has complimentary apple and cookies at reception and a water filling station. Just bring your own bottle and fill up here and save $$. There's also a coffee/tea station too. All in all it was a great stay and I will definitely stay here again. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our first San Francisco experience and I must say this hotel went above and beyond. Their staff were brilliant and offered many valuable pieces of advice, the location is bang on the middle of San Fran (right on the tram line) and you're a short walk from virtually all great spots.

Seriously consider this place. You honestly can't do wrong.

Room tip: We were in a room where the main tram traffic rolled past. Noise pollution is completely blocked closing the window. Earplugs also provided
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marshallnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Colleen was really helpful when I wanted to do something special for a friend staying at The Chancellor. She escalated service to make our experience truly luxury hotel quality, thank you Colleen!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank lrnkelly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here during the September heat wave and would have appreciated a/c in our room. But that is our only criticism. Staff were really helpful. Alicia who runs the bar is a lovely cheerful character. Reception staff are really helpful giving directions and advice. A nice touch is the supply of coffee and water for guests throughout the day.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GardenerBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews